06-03-2011

United States of America

591 Signins

14790 Page Views

• Views: 14790
  • Message 1 of 10

My T420 Review + Warranty Experience + Accessories & Upgrades

2011-07-02, 21:13 PM

I received my T420 earlier this week and wanted to let everyone know my experiences with the machine itself as well as some accessories I purchased for it. You will see comparisons to the T400. The T400 is my SO's machine. Machine details for both are in my sig. The T420 shipped with a 500GB HDD & 4GB (4x1) RAM. This review is mainly about the T420 with the HDD installed, but with 8GB of RAM.

A little about me

As a student I mainly care about battery life, boot/ resume time, and system stability. Stability is very important to me because I take my class notes on my computer and we take exams on our computers as well. If I have computer issues during an exam, I could receive a worse grade or even fail. I fell in love with Thinkpads and the trackpoint the first time I ever used one years ago back in the era of 266MHz processors. While I have owned other laptop brands (Gateway, Acer, Compaq) it was soley because of price. I am happy to have a Thinkpad to call my own again.

For a while, I considered an x220, the x220t, and the W520. I decided I could not live with the screen resolution on the x220, the 3yr Think Pad protection + on-site was too much on the x220t ($459 vs $259 for other Think Pads), and I did not want to haul around the extra weight and size of the W520. This is my third 14" ThinkPad. I bought the machine during a sale where there was a free upgrade to 500GB HDD and 4GB of RAM. At the same time there was an extra 5% off on any T series. With those deals and the educational discount, I felt the T420 was an excellent deal.

Summary

Pros: Speed; Battery life; I do not have a screen door screen; warranty service is great; Keyboard is a joy to type on.