Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

21 Posts

10-11-2009

Colorado Springs, CO, US

144 Signins

584 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2009
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO, US
  • Views: 584
  • Message 181 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-15, 21:38 PM
I'm thinking the general consensus is that it'll be done when it's done. From what I've been hearing developing drivers for a switchable graphics system is extremely difficult and the software support just isn't up to par. I don't think this is necessarily any fault of Lenovo's; I feel the blame can be set on both Intel's and ATi's shoulders(I've also heard that driver support on Intel's end isn't that stellar in the first place). I'm definitely affected by this issue, but will continue to use ThinkPads in the future. This is a software problem affecting otherwise rock-hard, reliable hardware. However as I'm having to hibernate my T400 every time I'm taking it places, my mind has been wandering and I'll admit I'm starting to consider trading up to one of the new Optimus T410 models.
ThinkPads:
T400(2765-T6U), T500(2082-3HU), X200(7458-AE3)
T21(2647-8BU), 380ED(2635-7AU)
Reply
Options

43 Posts

11-18-2009

Germany

246 Signins

1504 Page Views

  • Posts: 43
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 1504
  • Message 182 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-16, 10:15 AM

Wow. Because Lenovo isn't able to provide functional drivers for their last generation notebooks you consider buying a new notebook from Lenovo. That's the spirit!

Reply
Options

21 Posts

10-11-2009

Colorado Springs, CO, US

144 Signins

584 Page Views

  • Posts: 21
  • Registered: ‎10-11-2009
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO, US
  • Views: 584
  • Message 183 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-16, 15:22 PM
I'm not entirely sure what the tone of your post is supposed t convey, but I apologize if my actions don't make sense to you. The fact is that ThinkPads are right for me, personally, and no other notebook manufacturer comes close to build quality, design, and conservative styling, in my opinion. I also hate touchpads with a passion so any notebook I use on a daily basis needs to have a Trackpoint style pointing device; only ThinkPads, HP Elitebooks, and Dell Latitudes offer this. ThinkPads offer the best Trackpoint out of the three, and I refuse to buy HP due to personal reasons. Also, I believe the T410 is the only line out of the three which still offers a 16:10 aspect ratio display; a plus to me as I can't stand a 16:9 notebook. So, it might not sound like the most logical thing to do sticking with a company who makes good notebooks that I've used for several years because some of the software support is troubling, but there are people out there who will jump ship and are completely happy with other notebooks because of these things. I, however, would not be. So, let's get back on topic and discuss these drivers?
ThinkPads:
T400(2765-T6U), T500(2082-3HU), X200(7458-AE3)
T21(2647-8BU), 380ED(2635-7AU)
Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 184 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-16, 18:04 PM

I'd try out any alpha/beta/testing drivers if any are available.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

8 Posts

07-23-2009

Germany

30 Signins

172 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 172
  • Message 185 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-17, 9:20 AM

At least it works to deactivate the ATI in the BIOS and just use the Intel GMA 4500 (T400 2575-52G). When using it in that configuration the ATI doesn't consume power after Hibernation/Standby... Hope there will be a new driver in 2010, so I can use standby/hibernation without sacrificing performance.

 

Kind regards

 

delta

Reply
Options

89 Posts

12-04-2008

Germany

506 Signins

1587 Page Views

  • Posts: 89
  • Registered: ‎12-04-2008
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 1587
  • Message 186 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-17, 10:58 AM

This would be great. However, using the Intel GMA one cannot use the docking station's DVI port, which is a deal breaker.

As all of you I am really looking forward to a new switchable graphics driver. Just like ColonelONeill   I would also test beta drivers.

 

Greetz!

M.T.

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 187 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-17, 13:48 PM

Hibernate works properly for me. It's just standby that triggers both ATI cards.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

9077 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

77877 Signins

2233125 Page Views

  • Posts: 9077
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2233125
  • Message 188 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-17, 14:09 PM

 


wrote:

Hibernate works properly for me. It's just standby that triggers both ATI cards.


 

Colonel,

 

After standby, does manually switching to discrete, then back to integrated graphics (using the power manager tool-tray icon)  sort things for you?

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 189 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-17, 14:22 PM

Yep, it does. I'm considering writing a script that'll automatically do that if I can figure out what parameters the Power Manager taskbar item passes to whichever .exe to get it to switch.I am assuming that somehow the two GPU's aren't powered on during standby, which would make the point of standby moot for me.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 190 of 275

Re: R400/T400/T500/W500: Switchable graphics issues with Win 7

2010-10-17, 15:03 PM
Got it. Here is a batch file that will switch to discrete then switch back to integrated. The TIMEOUT (delay for the switch to complete) and the path to PWMUIAux.EXE may vary for your system.

[CODE]
@ECHO OFF
ECHO Switching to discrete graphics...
"C:\Program Files\ThinkPad\Utilities\PWMUIAux.exe" /HighPerformanceGpu /ShowDialog
TIMEOUT 7
ECHO Switching to integrated graphics...
"C:\Program Files\ThinkPad\Utilities\PWMUIAux.exe" /EnergySavingGpu /ShowDialog
[/CODE]

I currently have no way of getting it to run on resume from Standby specifically; RMClock offers an option to run an event on resume from Standby/Hibernation, but not Standby specifically.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All