Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

52 Posts

10-17-2008

cph, denmark

57 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: cph, denmark
  • Views: 334
  • Message 1 of 32

T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-12, 8:22 AM

I have a T14 (T14 Gen 1 (type 20UD, 20UE) Laptop (ThinkPad) - Type 20UD) and are experiencing problem with Sleep / Hibernate

 

When i resume the computer, Windows 10 is blank as if it's been shutdown completely. 

 

Looking at the Event Log i can see that i get a Kernel Power Failure event (Event 41, Kernel Power)

"The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly."

 

I currently have BIOS 1.30 but am unsure if the problem came with this BIOS version or it was present before... 

 

AMD Display driver is up to date - i wonder if there are problems with it ? 

 

I've been able to Sleep / Hibernate before without errors...

 

Will try downgrading BIOS to 1.29 like some other people have to resolve powerdrain issues... 

Reply
Options

3620 Posts

08-02-2018

United States of America

788 Signins

18767 Page Views

  • Posts: 3620
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 18767
  • Message 2 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-12, 17:22 PM

Hello Montago!

 

Welcome to community forums


Are you still experiencing this issue after the downgrade of the BIOS? Make sure to read the text file before proceeding. And also, disable the secure rollback prevention in the BIOS first.

 
If the issue is the same, can you send a screenshot of the system information, with the BIOS version and OS version on it?


Let us know.

 

 

Jwes_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Options

52 Posts

10-17-2008

cph, denmark

57 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: cph, denmark
  • Views: 334
  • Message 3 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-12, 18:11 PM

Hi Jwes_Lenovo

 

Yes I'm still experiencing it. :(

 

I downgraded today to 1.29, and hibernated the computer before leaving work. 

 

When i now boot up, later the same evening, the computer has shutdown again (all programs gone / shut down) 

 

I'm getting a Critical Kernal power even in event viewer again .. it happens as soon as i press the powerbutton to resume the computer. 

 

Reply
Options

52 Posts

10-17-2008

cph, denmark

57 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: cph, denmark
  • Views: 334
  • Message 4 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-13, 6:22 AM

small update. 

 

I've isolated it to being an issue with Hibernate .. 

 

Disabling "Fast startup" didn't do anything. in respect to this issue. 

 

It's ONLY when resuming from hibernate that the computer shuts down. 

I disabled hibernate and haven't had an issue. 

 

regarding the PC, the only special thing about it is that it has extra RAM installed from 16 to 32 GB. 

The extra RAM was installed by the certified Lenovo reseller - so i expect it to be the correct type. 

Reply
Options

11 Posts

03-26-2021

Croatia

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2021
  • Location: Croatia
  • Views: 50
  • Message 5 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-13, 10:16 AM

Greetings,

 

I am having same problems with T14 Gen 1 with Ryzen 5 4650U. Had 16GB or RAM (8GB soldered), and i removed the extra 8 GB thinking it was causing problems, but that didn't help.

Bios was at 1.30 and i downgraded to 1.29, but problems still exist, with both sleep and hibernate in Windows 10.

All other drivers are updated with Lenovo vantage.

 

Disabled fast startup and that helped to a degree, also disabled CPU Power Management in BIOS, but problems still exist.

So now i avoid using sleep or hibernate, but that is limiting my work.

 

What info can i send (from event viewer or something else) so that this issue can be resolved faster?

 

Reply
Options

3620 Posts

08-02-2018

United States of America

788 Signins

18767 Page Views

  • Posts: 3620
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2018
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 18767
  • Message 6 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-13, 15:41 PM

Can you send a screenshot of the system information with BIOS and OS versions on it? And also send another screenshot for the display driver details under the device manager?

 

Jwes_Lenovo



Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs-up icon below to thank them.!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.


Using Browser Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community

Reply
Options

11 Posts

03-26-2021

Croatia

9 Signins

50 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎03-26-2021
  • Location: Croatia
  • Views: 50
  • Message 7 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-13, 19:15 PM

I attached screenshots you requested 

Reply
Options

52 Posts

10-17-2008

cph, denmark

57 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: cph, denmark
  • Views: 334
  • Message 8 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-13, 20:08 PM

Here is a couple of screenshots from my system. 

Reply
Options

52 Posts

10-17-2008

cph, denmark

57 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: cph, denmark
  • Views: 334
  • Message 9 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-14, 6:23 AM

I thought that it was only Hibernation that caused this.

 

Today I've experienced a Shutdown during Sleep !!!

 

 

Reply
Options

52 Posts

10-17-2008

cph, denmark

57 Signins

334 Page Views

  • Posts: 52
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2008
  • Location: cph, denmark
  • Views: 334
  • Message 10 of 32

Re:T14 AMD (4750) Gen 1 Shutdown when resume

2021-04-14, 7:03 AM

I've run "powercfg -availablesleepstates" and this is the result.

 

I'm wondering if only having S0 is a problem .. 

 

Yesterday i put the computer in sleep mode at 22:30 .. and today it was almost empty (barely 9 hours after) 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms