Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

08-04-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

50 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 340
  • Message 1 of 6

T14 AMD (4750u) and Wireless display

2020-08-04, 16:52 PM

Recently purchased a couple of T14 (4750u, 32gb) for our business.

 

We use smart displays extensively in our business during meetings and when the laptops arrived, after setting them up and updating, we attempted to connect to the displays with worrying results.

 

We have tried both the laptops on two different model of display, I must prefix that these displays have been in use for over a year with countless other products and never demonstrated any issues.

 

On our LG smart display, the display was identified in the device scan, allowed handshake and connection and seemed to work fine. However after the first connection, its not allowed another connection since and seems to fail during handshake.

 

Our Samsung (Flip which is an interactive display), identifies in the device scan, allows handshake and connects. However no display is shown (only the holding window on the display which can be maximised etc). The stranger thing is connection has obviously been successful as both Audio and touch are passed between the devices.

 

Bearing in mind how popular the Thinkpads are in the corporate world, I would really hope that something as widely accepted as this protocol would work flawlessly.

 

Reply
Options

11867 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40175 Signins

422784 Page Views

  • Posts: 11867
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 422784
  • Message 2 of 6

Re:T14 AMD (4750u) and Wireless display

2020-08-04, 17:56 PM

Have you gotten it working on any computers using the same AMD CPU/chipset?  It has been my experience that AMD-based devices are much more particular on what devices they can talk to and often the computers and displays need particular firmware revisions to communicate.  Also, some combinations just don't work.  I suggest searching the AMD forum for info about Miracast and your particular display


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-04-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

50 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 340
  • Message 3 of 6

Re:T14 AMD (4750u) and Wireless display

2020-08-04, 18:05 PM

Thanks for heads up RichK, appreciate the help.

 

Difficult to say anything around this particular particular package at the moment, with it being so new to market.

 

But what I will say, is that there isn't a great deal of AMD specific issues on this forum relating to Miracast. but have found one other user here experiencing the same issue.

 

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T4-T5-und-neuere-T-Serie-ThinkPad-Notebooks/T14-s-AMD-Miracast-Verbindung/m-p/5030350

 

I would also hope that when they state this very option in the User Guide, then they have at least bothered to test and verify.

 

https://download.lenovo.com/pccbbs/pubs/t14_t15_p14s_p15s/html_en/index.html#t=en%2FConnect_to_an_external_display_(topic)_T0000731807.html&rhsearch=wireless%20display&rhhlterm=wireless%20display&rhsyns=%20

Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-04-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

50 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 340
  • Message 4 of 6

Re:T14 AMD (4750u) and Wireless display

2020-08-05, 17:29 PM

OK, so further testing brought some results with the LG display. Removing the stored LG device under 'Bluetooth and Other Devices' now allows connection as expected. Unfortunately this has to be done on every subsequent connection. 

 

Still no joy with the Samsung Flip though. 

Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-04-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

50 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 340
  • Message 5 of 6

Re:T14 AMD (4750u) and Wireless display

2020-08-06, 17:50 PM

Update

 

As I surmised, it seems to be down to HDCP handshake.

 

By turning the Capture capability off (which in turn disables HDCP) of the Samsung Smart board, we can display and image.

 

There is still an issue however, and that its the image freezes after about a minute.

 

Looking around its the WIFI Alliances recommendation that vendors who distribute Miracast with HDCP devices ensure that the implementation is correct.

 

https://www.wi-fi.org/download.php?file=/sites/default/files/private/Miracast_HDCP_Tech_Note_v1%200_0.pdf

Reply
Options

12 Posts

08-04-2020

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

50 Signins

340 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎08-04-2020
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 340
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:T14 AMD (4750u) and Wireless display

2020-08-06, 17:51 PM
Rich how do we get somebody above level one support from Lenovo to look at this.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms