English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

237 Posts

10-18-2008

Amsterdam

849 Signins

7066 Page Views

  • Posts: 237
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2008
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Views: 7066
  • Message 1 of 101

T400 Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2008-12-15, 13:17 PM

Often, when I hold down the Fn-key while pressing the Home-key or the End-key, the display brightness does not change. Also, in these cases the green brightness info-bar is also not displayed. Though, other Fn-key combinations work like Fn+F7 or Fn+ScrLk.

 

After a fresh boot, it works. The problem seems to be related to power management since it occurs often after standby/resume-cycle or a hibernation/resume-cycle or a change from running on AC to running on battery .

 

This happens on a T400 running Vista 32. Lenovo software is up-to-date, AFAIK.

Reply
Options

12 Posts

12-07-2008

evanston, il

202 Signins

964 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎12-07-2008
  • Location: evanston, il
  • Views: 964
  • Message 2 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2008-12-27, 21:02 PM

I have the same problem, too. It happens after a few sleep cycles on a T400 with vista 64.

 

Does anybody have any suggestions?

Reply
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

SK

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: SK
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 3 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2008-12-31, 9:37 AM

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

01-04-2009

Austria

8 Signins

86 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2009
  • Location: Austria
  • Views: 86
  • Message 4 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-01-05, 13:26 PM

I am facing the same problem and would be very happy about a solution (Vista64)

 

 

Reply
Options

24 Posts

10-06-2008

Morgan Hill, Ca

214 Signins

586 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎10-06-2008
  • Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
  • Views: 586
  • Message 5 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-01-05, 15:26 PM

Happens infrequently... coming out of standby.  And with decreasing frequency.  For instance, I use the lid trigger to go into standby, and come out of it.  Typically 10 times a day.   I can not remember when the last time I didn't have adjust capability. 

 

I have the default brightness set a bit high, so I will almost always drop it a notch. 

 

Point is, I've had the problem... did nothing to "fix it"  that I'm aware of.  Which means it will be back at some point.

Richard
Reply
Options

89 Posts

12-04-2008

Germany

506 Signins

1587 Page Views

  • Posts: 89
  • Registered: ‎12-04-2008
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 1587
  • Message 6 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-01-05, 19:26 PM

This problem seems to be quite usual for the T400 ... but it shows up not too often.

 

What helped me, anytime I faced the problem, is closing the lid to turn off the display and open it again. A little problem here is using this to send the notebook to standby ;)

 

Greetz!

M.T.

 

Reply
Options

321 Posts

12-16-2008

Texarkana Texas

501 Signins

5306 Page Views

  • Posts: 321
  • Registered: ‎12-16-2008
  • Location: Texarkana Texas
  • Views: 5306
  • Message 7 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-01-05, 19:42 PM
I have had problems with my t500 brightness not being adjustable with the keyboard, but it works via powermanagement..  Although it works right now, I also did nothing to fix it.
Thinkpad T500 - Intel Core2 P8400 (2.26GHz), 4 gigs of ram, 160GB/7200rpm hard drive, ATI 3650 GPU, WSXGA+ panel
Reply
Options

89 Posts

12-04-2008

Germany

506 Signins

1587 Page Views

  • Posts: 89
  • Registered: ‎12-04-2008
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 1587
  • Message 8 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-01-05, 20:09 PM

wrote:
I have had problems with my t500 brightness not being adjustable with the keyboard, but it works via powermanagement..  Although it works right now, I also did nothing to fix it.

Seems to be a quit "funny" bug ... I could not change brightness with powermanagement ^^

 

Greetz!

M.T.

Reply
Options

237 Posts

10-18-2008

Amsterdam

849 Signins

7066 Page Views

  • Posts: 237
  • Registered: ‎10-18-2008
  • Location: Amsterdam
  • Views: 7066
  • Message 9 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-02-24, 23:25 PM
The problem seems to be resolved by recent updates.
Message Edited by Izmi on 02-24-2009 03:25 PM
Reply
Options

16 Posts

10-21-2008

California

16 Signins

145 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2008
  • Location: California
  • Views: 145
  • Message 10 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2009-05-09, 14:57 PM

I'm having this issue too, but since the Thinkvantage System Update no longer works, I can't have it automatically download any updates. I went Lenovo's site to look for things to download manually, but there are a lot of different options, none of them specifically referencing the brightness issue. So far I've tried the power management related ones, but no dice. Anyone have any suggestions?

 

And a note to Lenovo: Disabling System Update while you're making whatever changes it is you plan to plan is pants-on-head-stupid. 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete