English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

66 Posts

01-23-2011

DE

129 Signins

913 Page Views

  • Posts: 66
  • Registered: ‎01-23-2011
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 913
  • Message 91 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2012-08-29, 10:01 AM

I'd like to confirm that this brightness adjust problem happens on my T510 thinkpad, too. System: Windows 7 x64. All drivers are up to date (power management 6.32). Closing and reopening the lid solved the problem (at least once). 

 

Reproducing this issue is difficult. It happens only when I put the machine in hibernation mode, but it cannot be reproduced all the time. But I had experienced it now nearly ten times in my holidays where I use hibernation instead of normal standby.

 

This will be another argument for me to leave Lenovo Thinkpads now after a long time. First the new keyboard layout, and now drivers problem that cannot be solved since nearly two years which can be seen in this thread. I think that my next laptop won't be from Lenovo anymore.

 

Thorsten

Reply
Options

20 Posts

07-20-2010

PL/ EU

30 Signins

169 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎07-20-2010
  • Location: PL/ EU
  • Views: 169
  • Message 92 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2012-08-29, 15:49 PM
I am also leaving Lenovo soon. The quality is rather poor now and the support useless. Time to change the mindset in my organization as well in advance.
FYI. My laptops suffered from:keyboard failure after two months - replaced, brightness ctrl, lid mechanizm became lose, led indicators do not work, volume control backlight doesnt work, IR control never worked (support had no clue).
This is really pathetic.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

11-17-2012

Norway

3 Signins

7 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2012
  • Location: Norway
  • Views: 7
  • Message 93 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2012-11-17, 16:57 PM

I downloaded new power program version 6.36 and ati driver after that i go to taskbar and right klikk on batteri icon and chose chanse grafikk and schose energisaving. That solved my issue so now i can adjust brightnes (fn home and end)

Lenovo t400 using windows7 ultimate. 

Reply
Options

20 Posts

07-20-2010

PL/ EU

30 Signins

169 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎07-20-2010
  • Location: PL/ EU
  • Views: 169
  • Message 94 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2012-11-17, 18:48 PM
I have one with nVidia. Problem still persists after 2 years and lot of updates. I have to close and re-open the lid to get it working. Ehh I think one needs to live with that till a new lap from another brand will come to hand:)
Whats the weather in Norway?:)
Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-14-2013

Toronto

2 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-14-2013
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 32
  • Message 95 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2013-02-14, 17:24 PM

Come on Lenovo, it's been over 5 years and I'm still having this problem. Closing screen and reopening ISN'T a fix. Especially when that DOESN'T resolve the issue 100% of the time. For some of us who have to move constantly between rooms with varying light conditions, this is a HUGE pain, not to mention the extra wear we're introducing to the hinges. And to boot, some users with machines built last year (T520) are still having this problem. 

 

I can walk in to a local Lenovo distributor and reproduce this on a live demo.. in 2013.

 

Please get off your butts and fix this already.

Contact me if you need my specs.

Reply
Options

66 Posts

01-23-2011

DE

129 Signins

913 Page Views

  • Posts: 66
  • Registered: ‎01-23-2011
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 913
  • Message 96 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2013-02-14, 17:49 PM


prasanthvaa schrieb:

 

I can walk in to a local Lenovo distributor and reproduce this on a live demo.. in 2013.

 


Please, could you post your exact steps to reproduce this issue? I forgot them; I had the issue more than one year ago. I would like to test it on another device.

 

BTW I still don't know how to contact the Lenovo support for issues like this which are obviously caused by some drivers. The normal Lenovo support is only responsible for hardware issues. After the purchase of a device there exists a 30 day interval where one can asks about drivers issues, too. But issues like this obviously fall outside this small interval because they appear sometimes.

 

There has to be some channel to reports bugs and problems with the drivers because otherwise there would not exist a bug fixing process at all. And I appreciate the update of drivers of Lenovo Thinkpad series very much. I don't believe that only this forum or the communication via resellers and service partners is all that exists. There has to be some other way of contact.... (hopefully!).

 

Thorsten

Reply
Options

2 Posts

02-14-2013

Toronto

2 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎02-14-2013
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 32
  • Message 97 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2013-02-14, 18:09 PM
Easiest way for me:

1. Fn + F4 (Sleep)
2. Close Lid
3. Open Lid, hit Power Button
4. Try Fn + Home/End

Result: No change in brightness and no GUI brightness indicator
Expect: Change in brightness + GUI brightness indicator

Notes.
1. Closing the lid and reopening doesn't "fix" this for me, I have to restart.
2. Works fine on Fedora 18
3. Volume keys + All other hot-keys don't have this issue and always work.

Let me know if you need specs.
Reply
Options

66 Posts

01-23-2011

DE

129 Signins

913 Page Views

  • Posts: 66
  • Registered: ‎01-23-2011
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 913
  • Message 98 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2013-02-15, 11:57 AM

I cannot confirm this problem. On my T510 this works perfectly with current drivers (with Fn+F4). IIRC the problem I had last year was that brightness was not changeable after some hibernation cycles.

Sometimes the whole screen stayed black. But after closing and opening the lid (normal S3 mode) everything worked fine again.

 

BTW I don't know why you are hitting the power button after opening the lid? This is not cecessary on my system.

Thorsten

Reply
Options

1 Posts

04-09-2012

Toronto, Ontario

23 Signins

101 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎04-09-2012
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario
  • Views: 101
  • Message 99 of 101

Re: T400 Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2014-04-20, 2:31 AM

Has anyone tried the following hotfix from Microsoft?

 

KB2752407 - Screen brightness changes and you cannot adjust the screen brightness after you resume a laptop from sleep mode in Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2752407

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

CA

3312 Signins

95273 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 95273
  • Message 100 of 101

Re: T400 Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycles

2014-04-20, 23:44 PM

AND WE HAVE A WINNER.

"When the laptop starts to enter sleep mode (system power state S3), you close the lid before the laptop enters to the sleep mode."

 

I was 50% sure this was the reproduction steps; didn't think it was a Windows side issue.


W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete