English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2192 Posts

05-02-2008

MY

14693 Signins

219550 Page Views

  • Posts: 2192
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2008
  • Location: MY
  • Views: 219550
  • Message 51 of 101

Re:T400: Brightness hotkeys don't work after sleep resume

2011-01-05, 13:01 PM

 

Hi guys,

 

As this issue does not happen to all users, also the engineering machine does not encounter this issue, i suggest those who have Win 7 try out Microsoft Hotfix article i found today.

 

You cannot make a computer that is running Windows 7 shut down or sleep

 

Symptoms:

You have a computer that is running Windows 7. When the system is under heavy load, you may encounter one or more of the following problems:

  • The hotkey on your keyboard does not work. For example, you press the hotkey to control the brightness of your computer screen. However, the level of brightness does not change.
  • Windows 7 stops responding when you shut down the computer or put the computer into Sleep.

Let me know how it goes. Thanks!

 

Regards,

Cleo


T410, x240

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Reply
Options

32 Posts

11-11-2010

Romania

129 Signins

1837 Page Views

  • Posts: 32
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2010
  • Location: Romania
  • Views: 1837
  • Message 52 of 101

Re: Re:T400: Brightness hotkeys don't work after sleep resume

2011-01-05, 19:50 PM
This happens to me sometimes. At first i just closed the lid and opened back but I discover that pressing FN + END restores the brightness, yeah I know END is for low so it should be darker not bright, but it works this way :P and FN + HOME ( UP ) works after this.
Lenovo T410, 2518EUG, Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-22-2008

Oregon, USA

5 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-22-2008
  • Location: Oregon, USA
  • Views: 23
  • Message 53 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2011-01-18, 2:02 AM

Opening and closing the lid works for me too (and I also have no action assigned to lid closure).

 

 

Reply
Options

2192 Posts

05-02-2008

MY

14693 Signins

219550 Page Views

  • Posts: 2192
  • Registered: ‎05-02-2008
  • Location: MY
  • Views: 219550
  • Message 54 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2011-01-18, 6:39 AM

Hi All,

 

Those reported here has different type of model, different OS, and configuration. The engineers i'm working with do not encounter this problem though. I would like to share something with you as suggested by the engineering.

 

1) Verify that you're using the Lenovo preload for the listed OS.
Note: Custom images are supported by the image creator.


2) Run TVSU then verify via driver matrix page that all drivers are current. Alternatively, download lenovo drivers from support page.


3) Change power manager to use the Thinkpad Default power scheme.

 

If you still have the issue but not using T400, please create another topic for this topic has so many different models and configurations. It's getting complicated.

 

Within that new thread, remember to specify the information below which can be shared with others and for my info gathering too.

 

  1. Brand Family (i.e. T410s, T61,etc)
  2. Power Manager version
  3. VGA driver version
  4. Chipset driver
  5. OnScreen Display driver
  6. Machine Type Model
  7. RAM
  8. OS (i.e. Win 7 Ultimate 32 bit)
  9. Bios version
  10. Hot key version
  11. Steps to duplicate the problem
  12. Frequency of the problem occurence ( 10/10 ??)


T410, x240

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

How to send a private message? --> Check out this article.


English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-28-2009

Riga

18 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-28-2009
  • Location: Riga
  • Views: 52
  • Message 55 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2011-03-12, 12:41 PM
  1. Brand Family: T400 6473-58G
  2. Power Manager version: v 3.40. Power Manager driver version 1.61.00.11
  3. VGA driver version: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator Driver 8.15.10.2182
  4. Chipset driver: unable to locate
  5. OnScreen Display driver: 6.20.00
  6. Machine Type Model: 6473-58G
  7. RAM: 2048MB x 2 = 4GB
  8. OS (i.e. Win 7 Ultimate 32 bit): Windows 7 Professional 64Bit, Verison 6.1 Build 7601: Service Pack 1. Original MSDN CD no customisations etc.
  9. Bios version: 7VET89WW (3.19-1.06)
  10. Hot key feature integration package version: 3.30.0000
  11. Steps to duplicate the problem: read below
  12. Frequency of the problem occurence ( 10/10 ??): 4 of 10

11. It is difficult to duplicate problem. The main approach is to set poweroptions to go computer to sleep after x minutes. Sometimes it happens when you put machine to sleep manually. But problem arise when you take laptop back (wake-up). It seems that it have to take some time before you put machine in to sleep and then wake it up, not so short as 30 seconds. Not always the problem arise randomly. If the problem occures all other hotkeys are working propperly, only brightness don't work. I have even tried to open Power Management and try to set brightness manually (with cursor) but it doen't work, even stichning power plans, brightness remains the same level. I seems to be purely software/driver problem as wen I activate screensave Fn+Home (brigntness up) interrupts it, so keys are ok, signal is send, only no action on windows side. I have tried to hibernate and restore, during Windows start up I am able to change brightness, but when Windows is loaded brightness level is again reset to saved value and is unchangable :) The way to recover from error: 1. restart, easiest one, 2. you can put to sleep your laptop manually (not sure) or give it to go to sleep after x minutes (sure) and after wake up SOMETIMES it start working again (4 of 10 times), most likely not from the first time.

 

I have installed original x64 Windows 7 Professional and installed all drivers from Lenovo Update and Drivers utility only, nothing special was done. Problem was noticed before SP1 was installed. Today 12.03.2011 I have all reacent drivers installed via Lenovo Update and Drivers utility.

 

I have made Everest report in MHTL (IE format) and put it here http://www.rasayana.lv/t400.zip

It should contain all the detailed information about my notebook and installed software.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

12-28-2009

Riga

18 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎12-28-2009
  • Location: Riga
  • Views: 52
  • Message 56 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2011-03-22, 19:03 PM
Cleo_Lenovo
Any comments?
Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-23-2011

Germany

21 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-23-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 52
  • Message 57 of 101

T410 - Brightness control doesn't work after hibernation

2011-03-23, 11:18 AM

The Brightness control doesn't work after hibernation

The problem was started to be discussed in this thread
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T400-Brightness-cannot-be-changed-after-standby-resume-cycles/td-p/77975/page/6

As pleased by an admin i open a new thread to discuss the problem with a specific model.

So, i use the lenovo preload programs, i ran System Update to get the latest updates for all the lenovo programs and the power scheme of the power manager is default. Anyway the problem occurs.

This is my computer right now
 1. Brand Family: T410
 2. Power Manager version: 3.45
 3. VGA driver version:
        Intel(R) HD Graphics, Driver Version 8.15.10.2202
        NVIDIA NVS 3100M, Driver Version  8.17.12.5738
 4. Chipset driver: unable to locate
        Intel(R) 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port [1,2,4,5]
          Driver Version 9.1.1.1022
 5. OnScreen Display driver: ThinkPad Display 1440x900, Driver Verion 4.34.0.0
 6. Machine Type Model: 2522-WV7
 7. RAM: 1x 4096 + 1x 2048MB = 6GB
 8. OS: Windows 7 Professional 64Bit
 9. Bios version: 1.35
10. Hot key feature integration package version: 3.32.0000
11. Steps to duplicate the problem: restart from hibernation. occurs sometimes.
12. Frequency of the problem occurence ( 10/10 ??): 4 of 10


Going into stand-by and wake up solves the problem. Till now this did the trick every time.

I'll try if closing and opening the lid without having any action asigned to this will do as well.
Anyway i want to get rid of the problem reliably.

Hope we can solve it

Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-23-2011

Germany

21 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-23-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 52
  • Message 58 of 101

Re: Brightness cannot be changed after standby/resume-cycle

2011-03-23, 11:23 AM

I have the same problem.

I assured to have installed the lenovo preload programs, i ran System Update to get the latest updates for all the lenovo programs and the power scheme of the power manager is default. Anyway the problem remains.
As pleased in message 52 by cleo_lenovo i opened a new topic with my notebook specifications.
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T410-Brightness-control-doesn-t-work-after-hibernation/td-p/398051

Hope we can solve it there

Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-23-2011

Germany

21 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-23-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 52
  • Message 59 of 101

Re: T410 - Brightness control doesn't work after hibernation

2011-03-23, 23:16 PM

Some admin deleted my topic and moved the post to here.

So sorry chaugi for offering my system as well now.

 

In between I found out that closing and opening the lid without having any action asigned to this arranges the problem once.

And when coming from hibernation i can preview if the control works:

- if the brightness bar occurs once and then disappears everything works fine.

- if it doesn't occur, brightness control doesn`t work.

 

So maybe theres some control component that should be reloaded after hibernation but doesn't do reliably?

Reply
Options

4 Posts

03-23-2011

Germany

21 Signins

52 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎03-23-2011
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 52
  • Message 60 of 101

Re: T410 - Brightness control doesn't work after hibernation

2011-03-26, 8:06 AM

Update: Opening and closing the lid makes the control work always. turning off the display by hotkey and turn it on again does never.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete