English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

20 Posts

09-08-2008

Florida

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-08-2008
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 170
  • Message 1 of 11

T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 6:10 AM

The order form calls it a 4 in 1 card reader for the PC Card slot, but it seems like it only takes SD cards.

 

Does anyone know the story on this?

 

Thanks.

Solved! See the solution
T400, 2.8Ghz T9600, 3GB PC3-8500 DDR3, 320GB HD, ATI Mobility Radeon 3470 256MB, 14.1 WXGA+ LED, 6 cell, Vista Business SP1 32bit, Fingerprint, 2Gb turbo HD cache, DVD Recordable, Intel WiFi Link 5300, bluetooth, card reader
Reply
Options

4096 Posts

01-05-2008

DE

22094 Signins

317040 Page Views

  • Posts: 4096
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2008
  • Location: DE
  • Views: 317040
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 8:04 AM

Hello,

 

which os your are using and also are some other cards recognised? 

What tells vista to you if you insert another card?

 

Greetings

 

 

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using Lenovo Yoga C930, ThinkPad X1 Carbon 5th Gen. Silver Edition, ThinkPad 13, Yoga 900, ThinkPad T460s, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Reply
Options

20 Posts

09-08-2008

Florida

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-08-2008
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 170
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 14:36 PM

Thanks for your response.

 

The slot is too small to put in a Compact Flash card. The size is perfect for a SD card, but after reading your response I actually tried a memory stick and it works!

 

So that is 2 in 1 (SD and Memorystick). Do you know the other 2? Is there any way to put in a CF card (I have a USB CF card reader, but didn't want to have to carry it around).

 

By the way, I have Windows Vista Business SP1

T400, 2.8Ghz T9600, 3GB PC3-8500 DDR3, 320GB HD, ATI Mobility Radeon 3470 256MB, 14.1 WXGA+ LED, 6 cell, Vista Business SP1 32bit, Fingerprint, 2Gb turbo HD cache, DVD Recordable, Intel WiFi Link 5300, bluetooth, card reader
Reply
Options

148 Posts

03-29-2008

Bangkok, Thailand

490 Signins

4656 Page Views

  • Posts: 148
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2008
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Views: 4656
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 15:21 PM

It should also take your CF Card but you will need to get a CF to PC Card adapter, which may have two slots on it as well. as mine does. 1 is for a Pro memory stick and the other, I believe is for an MMC card.

 

Cheers,

 

Singtoh

7663-A22,T61 14.1 Wide,T7300 2.0gig processor, 4 gig RAM, 500gig Seagate Hybrid HDD, 200gig Ultra Bay HDD, Ubuntu 64 Bit.
Reply
Options

20 Posts

09-08-2008

Florida

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-08-2008
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 170
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 15:31 PM
Thanks, Singtoh, I ordered the card reader so I wouldn't have to carry around an adapter (I already have a CF to PC Card adapter). Maybe I'll have to upgrade my SLR to one that takes SDHC cards :-)
T400, 2.8Ghz T9600, 3GB PC3-8500 DDR3, 320GB HD, ATI Mobility Radeon 3470 256MB, 14.1 WXGA+ LED, 6 cell, Vista Business SP1 32bit, Fingerprint, 2Gb turbo HD cache, DVD Recordable, Intel WiFi Link 5300, bluetooth, card reader
Reply
Options

148 Posts

03-29-2008

Bangkok, Thailand

490 Signins

4656 Page Views

  • Posts: 148
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2008
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Views: 4656
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 17:21 PM

Ok, fair enough, I just leave mine plugged in all the time, so I don't consider it "carrying it around with me" due to that it is stuck in the machine at all times, but to each his/her own I guess:) Please let me know if you are able to ready boost thru your 4 in 1 reader?? My machine see's the cards no problem but doesn't give me the option to ready boost. All of my cards that I put into an external card reader will ready boost, just not thru the 4 in 1. Thanks a bunch:)

 

Cheers,

 

Singtoh

7663-A22,T61 14.1 Wide,T7300 2.0gig processor, 4 gig RAM, 500gig Seagate Hybrid HDD, 200gig Ultra Bay HDD, Ubuntu 64 Bit.
Reply
Options

7 Posts

09-08-2008

US

13 Signins

77 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎09-08-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 77
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 17:38 PM

Actually it's 7 in 1 according to the tabook:

 

MMC, Memory Stick, Mem Stick Pro, SD, SDHC, XD, XD Type H

 

Yeah, I know they're stretching things a bit... 

 

 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

20 Posts

09-08-2008

Florida

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-08-2008
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 170
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 17:58 PM

Hi, Singtoh,

 

When you say ready boost - do you mean to use the card as a hard drive cache? Is that the same as the Turbo Boost 2gb cache that I had installed when they built the system?

 

Thanks

T400, 2.8Ghz T9600, 3GB PC3-8500 DDR3, 320GB HD, ATI Mobility Radeon 3470 256MB, 14.1 WXGA+ LED, 6 cell, Vista Business SP1 32bit, Fingerprint, 2Gb turbo HD cache, DVD Recordable, Intel WiFi Link 5300, bluetooth, card reader
Reply
Options

20 Posts

09-08-2008

Florida

21 Signins

170 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎09-08-2008
  • Location: Florida
  • Views: 170
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 17:59 PM

Thank you! I could not find that info.

 

It definitely looks like CF is not one of the choices, but having the others available will be nice.

T400, 2.8Ghz T9600, 3GB PC3-8500 DDR3, 320GB HD, ATI Mobility Radeon 3470 256MB, 14.1 WXGA+ LED, 6 cell, Vista Business SP1 32bit, Fingerprint, 2Gb turbo HD cache, DVD Recordable, Intel WiFi Link 5300, bluetooth, card reader
Reply
Options

148 Posts

03-29-2008

Bangkok, Thailand

490 Signins

4656 Page Views

  • Posts: 148
  • Registered: ‎03-29-2008
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand
  • Views: 4656
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: T400 Card Reader?

2008-09-08, 18:14 PM

Yes that's what I mean, Turbo Boost/Ready Boost. My machine didn't come with the built in Ready Boost/Turbo boost, so since I haven't been able to Ready Boost/Turbo Boost thru my 4 in 1 reader, I have an external reader that does that for me which is a USB reader, which I don't like attached to my machine! I have been trying for months to find a solution to this problem with the 4 in 1 reader, but have had no joy:(, and since yours is built in, un less you disable it and try a card in it to try to ReadyBoost/Turbo Boost, there will still be no joy:( I really don't need it but it seems to smooth things out a bit, but am getting to the point of giving up on it. I have read that the 4 in 1 card reader has a very slow thruput. Anyway, thanks for the reply, and if you find anything out please let me know. Thanks a bunch, again!

 

Cheers,

 

Singtoh

7663-A22,T61 14.1 Wide,T7300 2.0gig processor, 4 gig RAM, 500gig Seagate Hybrid HDD, 200gig Ultra Bay HDD, Ubuntu 64 Bit.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete