English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

4 Posts

09-11-2008

Atlanta, GA

4 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2008
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Views: 11
  • Message 1 of 6

T400 freezes/won't go past "please wait" screen in starting up Vista

2008-09-11, 16:03 PM

Hello all,

 

I was hoping someone could help me with this problem:

 

I just bought my T400 and it's acting out a bit: sometimes, either in Firefox or in MS Word, it will simply freeze up and I have to hard boot it to get it to start up again.This of course is highly annoying - I've had several word docs corrupted by this while I was working on them.

 

Also, it intermittently has problems starting up: when it gets to the "Please wait" screen in Vista, it will get stuck there (harddrive working like a mule for a few minutes, then start blinking in a continuous pattern). In order to get it to start up properly I then also have to remove the battery and reboot.

 

Is this a known issue? And if so, what do I do?


Thanks!
TPA

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: T400 freezes/won't go past "please wait" screen in starting up Vista

2008-09-11, 17:12 PM
Which version of office and Firefox are you using??? How much ram do you have, although have you got Vista sidebars and aero feature activated????
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-11-2008

Atlanta, GA

4 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2008
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Views: 11
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: T400 freezes/won't go past "please wait" screen in starting up Vista

2008-09-11, 17:53 PM

Hey, thanks so much for your quick reply:

 

I have 3 gigs of RAM. 2.26GHz Intel Dual-Core Processor

 

MS Office 2007 SP1 (milking the trial version for now, will buy the real deal as soon as the trial runs out)

 

Firefox: V3.0.1

 

I disabled the sidebars when I got the laptop, and I don't have aero (have Vista Home Basic)

 

Let me know if there's anything else you need to know.

 

Thanks again!

TPA

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: T400 freezes/won't go past "please wait" screen in starting up Vista

2008-09-11, 18:22 PM
Everything on your laptop seems fine, from a hardware perspective. Are you using any anti virus or also what is your CPU usage when try to use your browser and word????
Reply
Options

4 Posts

09-11-2008

Atlanta, GA

4 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎09-11-2008
  • Location: Atlanta, GA
  • Views: 11
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: T400 freezes/won't go past "please wait" screen in starting up Vista

2008-09-11, 18:30 PM
Yes, I'm using McAfee. Checked the processor usage. It briefly spikes to 100% when opening either word or firefox, but will hover between 8-20% while working in the applications. For large websites, firefox may cause a spike to the high 70s.
Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: T400 freezes/won't go past "please wait" screen in starting up Vista

2008-09-11, 18:38 PM
get spybot a free anti spyware software from the web, and use that to check whether you have any spywares on your laptop. I mean did this problem always occured when you first got the laptop, or did it jump suddenly when you downloaded or installed anything???
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete