Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

15 Posts

02-02-2010

Canada

27 Signins

214 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2010
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 214
  • Message 401 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-06, 13:46 PM

 


wrote:
it was and remains a flagship product in terms of design and technology

 

 

Mark,

 

If it was a premium/flagship product, then to resolve this problem Lenovo would show up at my door with a new machine, a screwdriver and a smile.

 

I don't know if you'll delete this post for mentioning a competitor, but at least  I know you'll see it.  I hope you'll share it with your managers.

 

When the sound card on my old Dell D610 fried out, within 72 hours, Dell shipped me a new machine in a box with a pre-paid return shipping label.  The new machine came with a screwdriver and an empty hard drive bay.  I moved the hard drive from the old machine to the new, packaged the old machine up (along with the screwdriver), slapped the pre-paid shipping label on the box and sent it off. 

 

RESOLVED.

 

They even sent a screwdriver.  THAT'S premium service. 

 

Regards.

Reply
Options

22 Posts

02-01-2010

San Clemente, CA

184 Signins

1182 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2010
  • Location: San Clemente, CA
  • Views: 1182
  • Message 402 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-06, 17:51 PM

As a follow up to cbegin's post....

 

I think Lenovo continues to give that kind of service to it's corp customers, which is the bulk of their business from the old IBM days.  I know the netops guys at work get that kind of service from talking to them.

 

For the individual consumer, like us on this forum, prob not.

 

 

Reply
Options

162 Posts

10-21-2009

Netherlands, Hilversum

732 Signins

3439 Page Views

  • Posts: 162
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2009
  • Location: Netherlands, Hilversum
  • Views: 3439
  • Message 403 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-08, 11:29 AM

 


wrote:

Ok, I am taking a shot. Monday they will exchange my motherboard. I have on-site warrenty. I asked them if they were aware of the problem, but the weren't really. We're talking netherlands here. So i explained the whole thing including Mark's comment about possibly older motherboards in stock. And told them i didn't want an old one because of the reasons the problem is only fixed in recent revisions.

 

So he checked and they first wanted to exchange my MB with a similar one. It was a revision number starting with 34 or something like that. But they couldn't find one anymore so i get a brand new one, most recent they saw till now, which starts with the numbers 60. They aren't aware of higher revision numbers. So let's hope this is a recent revision which has the problem fixed!

 

Mark, do you know if this is a revision number with the new voltage controller?????

 

--

jan


 

 

FYI:

Old motherboard: Planar FRU PN 43Y9976

New motherboard: Planar FRU PN 60Y5693

 

They changed the MB today. So time will tell!! I have no idea if this revision (it's a brand new MB; not a refurbished one) has the fixed voltage controller. Do you know this Mark?

 

Thanks, Jan

--- Lenovo Thinkpad t440p (20AN-CT01WW) + SAMSUNG MZ7TD512HAGM-000L1 SSD + 16G SDRAM + 14.0FHD 1920x1080 ---
Reply
Options

22 Posts

02-01-2010

San Clemente, CA

184 Signins

1182 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2010
  • Location: San Clemente, CA
  • Views: 1182
  • Message 404 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-08, 17:20 PM

Houtsma;

 

Where can I find this MB number on my T400s?  Is it in the BIO's or do I have to get a screwdriver out?

 

Thanks

Reply
Options

26 Posts

10-27-2009

Atlanta

79 Signins

349 Page Views

  • Posts: 26
  • Registered: ‎10-27-2009
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Views: 349
  • Message 405 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-08, 17:58 PM

houtsma - The idea that you have to go thru the repair cycle to have a new MB installed and are not able to know, indeed are not absolutely assured, that this replacement MB has the new voltage controller is totally unacceptable.

 

You have a documented problem.  Lenovo has a documented solution.  Their service organization does not have good information on this documented solution.  There are parts in circulation that may or may not have the "upgraded" voltage controller...

 

...and because Lenovo will not provide to the customer a reference to a definitive service instruciton which Lenovo's own staff can access,  it is left to the customer to roll the dice, go through the hassle of the service process and then be left to hope it will resolve the problem.

 

I have had three random shutdowns in the last 24 hours and Lenovo gives me no alternative on repair but to "roll the dice"?

Reply
Options

22 Posts

02-01-2010

San Clemente, CA

184 Signins

1182 Page Views

  • Posts: 22
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2010
  • Location: San Clemente, CA
  • Views: 1182
  • Message 406 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-08, 22:21 PM

Jeez... 3 shutdowns a day?

 

I think the "s" in T400s stands for "Save and Save often".

Reply
Options

26 Posts

10-27-2009

Atlanta

79 Signins

349 Page Views

  • Posts: 26
  • Registered: ‎10-27-2009
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Views: 349
  • Message 407 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-08, 22:58 PM

Interestingly, no, not three shutdowns a day on a regular basis.

 

Three in that particular 24-hour period.  That is not unusual, but I also sometimes go ten days with none at all.  Or there will be one, then none for a few days then another.

 

I see no pattern whatsoever except for the unreliability of the machine.

Reply
Options

162 Posts

10-21-2009

Netherlands, Hilversum

732 Signins

3439 Page Views

  • Posts: 162
  • Registered: ‎10-21-2009
  • Location: Netherlands, Hilversum
  • Views: 3439
  • Message 408 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-08, 23:39 PM

 


wrote:

Houtsma;

 

Where can I find this MB number on my T400s?  Is it in the BIO's or do I have to get a screwdriver out?

 

Thanks


 

 

Yea, you will need a screwdriver. I wrote it down when the repairman changed my MB. I have on-site warrenty, so i was there when it was changed. So if this MB gives me similar probs, i will keep on changing it (on-site) until it works.

 

--

jan

--- Lenovo Thinkpad t440p (20AN-CT01WW) + SAMSUNG MZ7TD512HAGM-000L1 SSD + 16G SDRAM + 14.0FHD 1920x1080 ---
Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-09-2010

Chicago IL

41 Signins

147 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2010
  • Location: Chicago IL
  • Views: 147
  • Message 409 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-09, 17:06 PM

Hi 2801AQU,

 

I bought new 2801AQU from MS store. Can you tell me when you purchased it. I have not received it yet but would like to know if there are any issues with the series.

 

Thanks again !!

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-09-2010

Chicago IL

41 Signins

147 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-09-2010
  • Location: Chicago IL
  • Views: 147
  • Message 410 of 613

Re: T400s random shutdowns

2010-02-09, 18:47 PM

Hi Mark,

 

Does all the T400s has shutdown problem or its specific to certain set of laptops ? The reason I am asking is I have bought a new one from Ms Store and received it today. I just want to make sure that I don't get into trouble by buying T400s. 

 

I hope Lenovo will take care if I run into issues.

 

Thanks

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms