Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

09-23-2009

Santa Barbara, CA

11 Signins

59 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎09-23-2009
  • Location: Santa Barbara, CA
  • Views: 59
  • Message 1 of 5

T410s External monitors peridocially go blank for 1 sec

2010-03-26, 2:46 AM

Hi,

 

I just purchased a T410s (Win 7 x64) and I have dual monitors hooked up via DVI off the docking station.

 

At both home and work (same dock monitor combo at both locations) I get periodic blank displays which lasts about a second and then all is fine.

 

This T410s is a replacement for the T400 (which spontaneously shuts down - that's off to the depot to fix now) and I never had the screen blanking problem with the T400 in the *same* dock/monitors.

 

Any thoughts?

 

Thanks, Chris.

Reply
Options

79 Posts

07-31-2008

USA - MA

324 Signins

1619 Page Views

  • Posts: 79
  • Registered: ‎07-31-2008
  • Location: USA - MA
  • Views: 1619
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: T410s External monitors peridocially go blank for 1 sec

2010-05-18, 14:09 PM

Hi, I'm getting the same thing.

 

I have 2 24" Samsung 2494HM LCD's and at first I had DisplayPort to HDMI cables (my LCD panels do HDMI) and it looked like complete crap, so I went DVI from the dock to the LCD's. That looks great, but each screen does the quick flash and it's driving me nuts.

 

I have a T410s (2912-2DU) with Core i5 (integrated video)

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

 

T430s (current), T420s, ThinkStation S20
Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-16-2010

Minneapolis, MN

4 Signins

46 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2010
  • Location: Minneapolis, MN
  • Views: 46
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: T410s External monitors peridocially go blank for 1 sec

2010-06-16, 16:21 PM

I have the same issue with my 2901-CTO using a Display Port to DVI adapter. Screen will randomly go black for one second. I've tried 2 different DP to DVI adapters. I don't know if it's a Display Port thing or what but the connection is very loose. Not super snug like DVI is. If the docking station has the same issue as reported here I'm going to be pissed. These are basic things that just need to work. A $1600 laptop should NOT have these issues.

 

My Wired LAN connection also seems to randomly drop about every hour. Again, this is basic functionality. Depending on the outcome of Fridays service call I may be purchasing a 13" MacBook Pro. At least I'm confident with what I'm getting (hardware and support wise) even if it doesn't have the features of the T410s. When I had an issue with my last MacBook Pro after 2 years of owning it Apple replaced the system board, display, fans, and hard drive for free even though I was out of warranty due to the failure being a manufacturing defect. I guess I never should have given PCs another shot. I just hate using Mac keyboards otherwise it would be a no brainer to use Apple again.

 

 

 

 

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-06-2011

Finland

17 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2011
  • Location: Finland
  • Views: 43
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: T410s External monitors peridocially go blank for 1 sec

2011-08-06, 7:14 AM

Ahh, at same time it is kind of nice and disappointing to know my T410s is not broken but this is a "feature"!

 

Has anyone found solution / workaround / anything to this blanking problem? 

 

Or has anyone actually a T410s + Mini Dock Plus Series 3 + a working DVI output?

 

Btw. this T410s is also with integrated graphics only. Could the chipset have a bug? VGA output works well though. I have not tested DisplayPort.  Monitor is Samsung SyncMaster 225BW which works perfect with my desktop computer, 1680×1050 native resolution.  

 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

08-06-2011

Finland

17 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎08-06-2011
  • Location: Finland
  • Views: 43
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: T410s External monitors peridocially go blank for 1 sec

2011-10-14, 14:28 PM

Just an update from here.

 

I tested my T410s with friend's display, using DVI and DisplayPort interfaces. I can't remember which model the monitor was, but it did not go blank like my Samsung. Instead, the bottom part of screen distorted (kind of twisted) occasionally. DisplayPort seemed to work fine, but we did NOT test it for an extended period.

 

So I bought a DisplayPort to DVI -adapter. It did not help. My Samsung monitor still goes blank time to time. :-(

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms