English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

33 Posts

04-29-2015

Italia

31 Signins

343 Page Views

  • Posts: 33
  • Registered: ‎04-29-2015
  • Location: Italia
  • Views: 343
  • Message 1 of 14

T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-02, 22:13 PM

I own a T420 4236 C09.
Now it has mounted an (original) CPU i5 2540 (2 Cores).

Already upgraded:
- RAM from (original) 2*2 to 2*4 GB 1333MHz pc10600.
- HDD (original) 250 GB 7200 rpm to SSD Samsung Evo 850 500 GB (Acronis partitioned it to 2*250 GB each).
Am now evaluating to upgrade the CPU to i7 2820 (4 Cores).
From this thread, it is already stated it should supoport RAM up to 2*8 GB.
Now, since I read that the CPU i7 2820 could support also a Clock frequency of 1600MHz pc12800,
Question: once settled the CPU i7 2820 (hoping and supposing every thing goes right): could the remaining HW be passed/ clocked to 1600MHz pc12800?

I would have already available a set of RAM Kingstom HyperX 2*8GB Cl9, which states coul work at 1600MHz pc12800 and higher,
Question: once upgraded the CPU, could be tested these sticks without harming something else?
Thanks for your comments. Regards,

Reply
Options

8703 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

77531 Signins

2210280 Page Views

  • Posts: 8703
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2210280
  • Message 2 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-02, 23:05 PM

Hi,

 

I've moved your post to its own thread.  Please don't post the same thing to multiple threads - particularly to multiple old threads.  It divides the conversation and makes it hard to follow.

 

Regards,

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

4372 Posts

07-24-2013

Switzerland

13053 Signins

377693 Page Views

  • Posts: 4372
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 377693
  • Message 3 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-03, 7:19 AM

I don't think it will run at 12800, it will stay a 10600 speeds in my opinion. 

 

Edit: Seems I was wrong, according to the webs it will run at 12800 speeds if you use a Quad-CPU and BIOS version 1.37

 


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

65 Posts

04-27-2013

Greece

175 Signins

779 Page Views

  • Posts: 65
  • Registered: ‎04-27-2013
  • Location: Greece
  • Views: 779
  • Message 4 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 7:22 AM
True, I just upgraded my T520 with 2x4GB Crucial 12800 memory and it it stays at 10600 speeds.

However my machines RAM score in Windows went up from 5.9 to 7.3
Reply
Options

33 Posts

04-29-2015

Italia

31 Signins

343 Page Views

  • Posts: 33
  • Registered: ‎04-29-2015
  • Location: Italia
  • Views: 343
  • Message 5 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 11:12 AM
@hexis:
question: your Windows RAM score went up to 7.3, because you increased the RAM?, fom 4 to 8GB?, holding frequency @ pc10600, is not it?
FYI: people here states RAM may supports 16GB (2*8GB) ..
Reply
Options

4372 Posts

07-24-2013

Switzerland

13053 Signins

377693 Page Views

  • Posts: 4372
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 377693
  • Message 6 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 11:39 AM

wrote:
:
: your Windows RAM score went up to 7.3, because you increased the RAM?, fom 4 to 8GB?, holding frequency @ pc10600, is not it?
FYI: people here states RAM may supports 16GB (2*8GB) ..

Yes, it's because of the more RAM


wrote:
FYI: people here states RAM may supports 16GB (2*8GB) ..

That's correct. ThinkPad generation xx20 will suport 16GB, the only exception being the W520, which with a quad-CPU will even support 32GB RAM


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

65 Posts

04-27-2013

Greece

175 Signins

779 Page Views

  • Posts: 65
  • Registered: ‎04-27-2013
  • Location: Greece
  • Views: 779
  • Message 7 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 12:56 PM
Yes, just by increasing the RAM, while still maintaining DDR3 1333MHz speed
AND the clock frequencies of 9-9-9-24-1T

Reply
Options

33 Posts

04-29-2015

Italia

31 Signins

343 Page Views

  • Posts: 33
  • Registered: ‎04-29-2015
  • Location: Italia
  • Views: 343
  • Message 8 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 13:50 PM
@Tasurinchi:
Gracias, creo hablas espanhol/ castellano, sin embargo, x continuidad con el Forum, es mejor comunuquemos en Inglés.

So, even if a CPU as ie the i7 2820qm (which I recently purchased and should be along the way), is able to support 1600MHz pc12800, even if set RAM at that frequency, an upgraded T420 should remain working at 1333MHz pc10600?

What is the component/ section of the machine which lead the clock speed of the entire system?, the MoBo?, what sub- component of the MoBo?, the Bios?

Thnx, Rgds,
Reply
Options

65 Posts

04-27-2013

Greece

175 Signins

779 Page Views

  • Posts: 65
  • Registered: ‎04-27-2013
  • Location: Greece
  • Views: 779
  • Message 9 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 14:18 PM

That is a good question.

 

I think it must be the CPU and let me clarify that I have an i5 2520M, which as you 2540m only supports memory up to DDR3 1333Mhz.

 

Whereas the i7 2820 supports up to 16000MHz

http://ark.intel.com/products/52227/Intel-Core-i7-2820QM-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_40-GHz

Reply
Options

4372 Posts

07-24-2013

Switzerland

13053 Signins

377693 Page Views

  • Posts: 4372
  • Registered: ‎07-24-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 377693
  • Message 10 of 14

Re: T420 RAM Upgrade

2015-06-06, 19:48 PM

 


wrote:
:
Gracias, creo hablas espanhol/ castellano, sin embargo, x continuidad con el Forum, es mejor comunuquemos en Inglés.

So, even if a CPU as ie the i7 2820qm (which I recently purchased and should be along the way), is able to support 1600MHz pc12800, even if set RAM at that frequency, an upgraded T420 should remain working at 1333MHz pc10600?

 

Si  :smileywink:

 

Edit: Read in the webs that indeed RAM could run at 1600 speeds in combination with a Quad Core and BIOS version 1.37

 


wrote:
What is the component/ section of the machine which lead the clock speed of the entire system?, the MoBo?, what sub- component of the MoBo?, the Bios?

I lack of enough deep knowledge about which specific component it is. I think it's the motherboard (the northbridge chip?) but I may get corrected...  :-/

 

But I wouldn't worry too much which speed it is. In normal daily usage you wouldn't notice...


Using Search to find your answers in Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms