Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2018

Netherlands

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2018
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 21
  • Message 1 of 8

T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-16, 10:49 AM

Hi,

 

I am trying to upgrade my old faithful T420s. I want to give it the typical upgrade of RAM. i currently have a 8GB Crucial 8GB DDR3L-160 SODIMM 1.35v (i see that it can support this voltage) in the first slot, but when i place RAM in the second, the system will not boot up. it works just fine with one slot, but the with 8GB in the second nothing works. i looked at the processor and Intel says it can do 16GB. 

 

I have a fresh install of windows 10 and the BIOS is up to date. 

 

Specs:

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2640M CPU @ 2.80GHz, 2801 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)

BIOS Version/Date: LENOVO 8CET65WW (1.45 ), 18/04/2018

 

any help would be great.

 

Cheers,

 

tim

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-17, 0:19 AM
What brand/specs are the second stick of RAM?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2018

Netherlands

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2018
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 21
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-17, 10:28 AM

Hi, thanks for your quick responce.

 

Crucial 8GB DDR3L-1600 SODIMM 1.35v CL11

 

see photo attached.

 

Cheers,

 

Tim

Reply
Options

586 Posts

06-26-2016

Germany

1098 Signins

16364 Page Views

  • Posts: 586
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 16364
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-17, 12:44 PM

 

are you sure 2nd module was installed correctly?  If you compare both installed memory modules in their slots, do you see any differences especially where the contacts are? Maybe not all pins had contact with the socket.

 

Does the system boot if you put the new module in memory position 1 and leave position 2 empty?

 

 

Tech-Savvyness does not replace reading the fine manual.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2018

Netherlands

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2018
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 21
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-17, 12:52 PM

yes i did the recomended seating method (in any out a few time etc). Yes it does boot up with just the second slot, but the funny thing is that sometimes it just shuts off (i will try again later today) when using just the second slot. i have tried both sticks and they do the same. so it might be a slot issue?

 

another thing to add to the mix, if i use the old RAM in that slot it works without any trouble. i compared both the RAM in the slots and they look ok as fas as i can tell. 

 

Cheers,

 

Tim

Reply
Options

586 Posts

06-26-2016

Germany

1098 Signins

16364 Page Views

  • Posts: 586
  • Registered: ‎06-26-2016
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 16364
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-17, 14:05 PM

what do you mean with 2nd slot?  The upper or lower slot?
If you insert just one module it should be placed into the lower position.

 

1. insert new module into lower postion, leave other slot empty

does is boot?  is it stable?

 

2. if yes, what happens if you place the other (old)  8GB module into the empty slot?
Does it boot with both 8GB modules?

 

3, it no,  what happens if you replace memory in upper slot with the other old memory (2gb or 4GB) ?
does it boot? 

 

4. you could try swaping both modules from point 3.  but I'm not sure if this combination is supported.

normally greater capacity memory modules should be placed in the lower position and smaller capacity module in upper position ( like in 3.)

 

If system can't boot with both 8GB module installed, even if you swap positions, I think there is a incompatibility problem.

You might try installing 2 modules from an other vendor like Kingston or Samsung.
Maybe  1333 cl9  modules? But 1600 should be compatible too, because they support the slower mode too.

this is what kingston shows as compatible with t420s:

8GB Module - DDR3 1333MHz
Artikelnummer: KCP313SD8/8
Techn. Daten: DDR3 , 1333MHz , Non-ECC , CL9 , X8 , 1.5V , Unbuffered , SODIMM , 204-pin

 

 

Tech-Savvyness does not replace reading the fine manual.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

06-16-2018

Netherlands

4 Signins

21 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎06-16-2018
  • Location: Netherlands
  • Views: 21
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2018-06-18, 19:36 PM

hi! thanks for the combinations and steps, I will retry all of this ASAP (away for work at the moment) and i will give my findings to all of them.

 

Cheers!

Reply
Options

9365 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

78100 Signins

2244240 Page Views

  • Posts: 9365
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2244240
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: T420s 8Gb RAM in second slot fails to boot BIOS

2019-06-27, 14:17 PM

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All