Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

08-02-2013

United States

3 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2013
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 6
  • Message 1 of 6

T430 Display Upgrade?

2013-08-02, 21:26 PM

Is it possible to uprade a T430 HD display to a HD+ display?

Reply
Answer
Options

12594 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40695 Signins

429984 Page Views

  • Posts: 12594
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 429984

Re: T430 Display Upgrade?

2013-08-03, 16:26 PM
It is certainly "technically" possible. You replace the panel and the cable. This is not considered a customer-replaceable part, so you may affect the warranty status. The backlight fuse on this model is VERY easy to blow, so make sure the battery is removed, and you are grounded. Also, I suggest unplugging the cable from the motherboard before working behind the panel. It would be poor to blow out your motherboard.

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply

Replies(5)
Answer
Options

12594 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40695 Signins

429984 Page Views

  • Posts: 12594
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 429984
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: T430 Display Upgrade?

2013-08-03, 16:26 PM
It is certainly "technically" possible. You replace the panel and the cable. This is not considered a customer-replaceable part, so you may affect the warranty status. The backlight fuse on this model is VERY easy to blow, so make sure the battery is removed, and you are grounded. Also, I suggest unplugging the cable from the motherboard before working behind the panel. It would be poor to blow out your motherboard.

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

08-02-2013

United States

3 Signins

6 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎08-02-2013
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 6
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: T430 Display Upgrade?

2013-08-03, 16:31 PM

Thanks! Some others have had the same question and I will pass on your reply to them. I called Lenovo tech support about this matter and the tech specialist wasn't able to give me any concrete information.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

11-25-2013

London

2 Signins

11 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎11-25-2013
  • Location: London
  • Views: 11
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: T430 Display Upgrade?

2013-11-25, 16:30 PM

Hi,

 

I have just bought a second hand T430 with the basic screen; since it is the only really horrible part plaguing an otherwise great laptop I'm planning to replace it.

 

It seems all you have to do is to replace the screen with an HD+ T430 panels and to replace the cable, but I have a few questions which mostly come from my reading of the T430 FRU list:

- There are three references for HD+ panels:

04W3331 N LGD 14.0"HD+ A
93P5685 N SEC 14.0" HD+
93P5693 N AUO 14.0" HD+

I guess LGD = LG, SEC = Samsung and AUO = ... well, AUO. I think it is just the brand of the screen and I should choose whatever I want (I read the LG one is the best, Samsung is correct and AUO is bad).

 

- For the cables, there are two references for HD+ displays:

04W6867 N LCD Cable HD+ Amp
04W6868 N LCD Cable HD+ Fox

"Amp" and "Fox" are certainly Amphenol and Foxconn which are contractors of Lenovo. Which cable should I choose ? Does the cable depend on the screen ? (And in this cas, is the "A" on the LG screen listing a subtle hint that I should choose the Amphenol cable ?) Or is it just the same equivalent part manufactured by two different companies and I can order any one ?

 

By the way, I was wondering if it would be possible (without too much hassle) to use a completely different panel, for example a T440 IPS display ? I think the answer is "no", but there's no harm asking.

 

Thanks !

Reply
Options

61 Posts

07-09-2012

Sarajevo

703 Signins

2508 Page Views

  • Posts: 61
  • Registered: ‎07-09-2012
  • Location: Sarajevo
  • Views: 2508
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: T430 Display Upgrade?

2013-12-07, 11:11 AM

I see that the T440 comes with IPS screen. Does anyone know if these can be retrofitted to T430 models too? This 1600×900 is way too poor in terms of colour reproduction and viewing angle.

Reply
Options

15 Posts

09-03-2019

Pakistan

31 Signins

399 Page Views

  • Posts: 15
  • Registered: ‎09-03-2019
  • Location: Pakistan
  • Views: 399
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: T430 Display Upgrade?

2019-09-11, 10:31 AM

For Display upgrades, see this excellent modding guide

https://medium.com/@n4ru/the-definitive-t430-modding-guide-3dff3f6a8e2e

Apparaently either of the two cables are suitable for HD+ upgrade.

As for FHD upgrade, the modding guide is a little outdated; the Chinese have fantastically produced a little LVDS to eDP board and companies selling them also sell compatible panels. They'd initially suffered from flicker and other issues (it was a matter of luck for most), but they've quite competantly overcome these. I personally installed the FHD mod, bought from AliExpress after a long long discussion with the producers (in my case, the company's caled Saniter). I'm very happy with the result. The small board sits behind the LCD panel which initilally had me worried, but apart from a very small amount of leak (only seen in black screen), there's been no other problem. The AUO panel I received is matt and outputs around 250 nit (measured from mobile phone app in dark room: around 270 but I think 250 is more realistic) and with a little bit of caliberation (with sight, no access to fancy equipment), it's remarkable. Also note, I'm very rough with my Thinkpad; it regularly falls, gets squeezed, sometimes even stepped on. My original panel broke because someone stepped on it; I replaced my main HDD with MSATA SSD because the HDD forze after a four-foot fall.... hence I was afraid the board might break the panel (the makers originally made the converter board to sit on top of RAM but the long cable causes flicker isssues, hence they stopped). I very carefully sandpapered some depressions in the back of the outer cover to take in the protruding parts of the board, and now, almost 16 months of use and abuse, I'm happy to report it's still performing superbly (and hasn't broken my panel or dented the outer shell)

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms