English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

12-08-2012

United States

12 Signins

92 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 92
  • Message 1 of 20

T430s camera not working

2013-04-16, 4:29 AM

my T430s camera(Windows8) is not working now. The LED light is on when I start the camera, but no imamges show up. I checked the driver, and it's already the latest version. The camera was working at the begining when I got my laptop, but I don't know what happened to it.

Any ideas how to solve this problem?t430s_camera_not_working.png

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

11 Posts

12-08-2012

United States

12 Signins

92 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 92
  • Message 2 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-04-16, 4:30 AM
reinstall the driver does not help ...
Reply
Options

11 Posts

12-08-2012

United States

12 Signins

92 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 92
  • Message 3 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-04-16, 4:45 AM

I happened to sovle my problem accidentally ... using skype.

Open Skype->Tools->Options->Video setting ->Webcam settings , then *uncheck* privacy

that's it!

 

hope it helps to those who have the same problem.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

6 Posts

02-16-2013

Cambridge, MA

5 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎02-16-2013
  • Location: Cambridge, MA
  • Views: 55
  • Message 4 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-04-22, 1:05 AM

Your method worked! Thanks!

Reply
Options

16 Posts

12-02-2012

Wappingers Falls NY

19 Signins

126 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2012
  • Location: Wappingers Falls NY
  • Views: 126
  • Message 5 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-04-22, 2:03 AM

Seems like folks in this thread have several issues.  My status is that eventually Fn-F6 started working after enough update iterations.  I am using the windows driver, skype works but the camera is really lousy compared to the logitech camera I am using instead.  Is it just a poor camera?  Is anyone using the Lenovo-supplied driver (with the 'skype camera privacy' fix mentioned above) and if so, are you happy with the camera?  Decent resolution and color?

Reply
Options

11 Posts

12-08-2012

United States

12 Signins

92 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎12-08-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 92
  • Message 6 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-04-22, 15:39 PM

Yes, I'm using the Lenovo-supplied driver. I never used the windows driver, but I guess the performance is not related with the driver.

 

My experience is that, if I just open the camera app in windows 8, with full screen as you know, then the resolution is terrible. But if I use it with skype, with smaller screen, then it looks OK, comparable with my logitech usb camera. 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

12-02-2012

Wappingers Falls NY

19 Signins

126 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2012
  • Location: Wappingers Falls NY
  • Views: 126
  • Message 7 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-04-25, 3:48 AM

Alright, I reinstalled the Lenovo/Ricoh driver and this time it works. I am still disappointed by the quality - not just resolution, all the colors are pretty washed out also.  No worse than the microsoft driver but defintely no better either!

Reply
Options

3 Posts

05-20-2013

Dusseldorf, Germany

8 Signins

85 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎05-20-2013
  • Location: Dusseldorf, Germany
  • Views: 85
  • Message 8 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-05-20, 5:24 AM

Same story with myself. Bought Lenovo 1 month ago with Windows 8..  Some days ago the system updated, without even asking me for confirmation and the build-in camera stopped. After deinstallation of the camera driver and re-booth the system, I have the camera again, but with worse quality :smileysad: .

BTW: I have same problem with the Bluetooth. In the beginning it worked properly, but then stopped. In the PC settings-Wireless it is shown OFF, but also the switch is grey and not active. Thus I cant turn it ON anymore. Thus anybody has some idea how to fix that.

And finally, I am very much disappointed by Lenovo, too. Why they don’t care for those problems. In fact we have paid for features that we don’t use fully, or even at all:smileymad:

Reply
Options

2 Posts

09-06-2013

France

2 Signins

18 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎09-06-2013
  • Location: France
  • Views: 18
  • Message 9 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-09-06, 8:50 AM

Hi everyone,

 

I've read the whole thread of this topic but all the solutions proposed in it didn't solve my problem. 

In fact, I managed to solve it by going in the settings of the Settings themselves. 

 

Here is how it happened : My Skype settings were allowing my webcam to be used, no problem. But whenever I was going to the Lenovo settings, it said the webcam was used by another application (but in fact didn't). [I tried previously to disinstall the driver but no Microsoft driver popped up like said before].

So what I did was just allowing the camera to be used by the Settings, going on the right hand side of the screen so the settings are showed. It seems ridiculous, but just after I did this I could use my camera without any problem so far (I've solved it yesterday). 

 

So my guess is that this problem is coming from a Windows 8's update, since my camera started not working after it. 

 

Tell me if it'd worked with you too! ;)

Reply
Options

12 Posts

09-09-2013

Princeton, New Jersey

14 Signins

149 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎09-09-2013
  • Location: Princeton, New Jersey
  • Views: 149
  • Message 10 of 20

Re: T430s camera not working

2013-09-09, 21:26 PM

Hi: I have the exact same problem as you. I believe that it happened after one update. I tried many different ways but none of them is working. Can you teach me how to make the camera be used by Setting?  Thanks a lot!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete