English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

02-03-2019

NO

13 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2019
  • Location: NO
  • Views: 43
  • Message 21 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-02-03, 15:13 PM
Thanks for the quick update Jack
Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-03-2019

NO

13 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2019
  • Location: NO
  • Views: 43
  • Message 22 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-02-12, 20:56 PM

Jack, I think I have discovered the component that would cause this issue in my laptop.

So, I opened the back cover and detached the battery cable from the board and then connected the AC adapter and I did't experience any restart and CMOS battery resset issue and I could logon normally to windows.

Next, I borrowed a battery from a calleague laptpp (same model as mine) and pluged into my laptop and turned it on. I logged in successfully to Windows with no CMOS issue. Then at this state of the machine, I connected the AC adapter and the laptop didn't restarted.

I can't explain/understand what would be the logical reasn for this behaviour as my own battery would charge and work normal otherwise.

Regardless, I am forced now to order a new battery for my laptop.

 

I hope this might help others as well.

 

Hameed

 

Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-19-2015

AT

23 Signins

105 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-19-2015
  • Location: AT
  • Views: 105
  • Message 23 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-02-14, 11:28 AM

Hameed,

I hope this solves the problem for you, but it didn't for us. With our T430 the 0251 error happens - not every time! - that the power cord is plugged in. It happens whether the battery is inserted or not. It happens with different power adapters (bricks). My electrical engineering opinion is that there is a bad contact that is not shunting the power from the adaptor all the time correctly. When the shunt is not working, the power is too much and causes the 0251 error. My goal is to find someone with the tools and expertise to trace connections from where the power plug comes in, and find the defective contact. In any case, I'm happy for you if a new battery solved your problem.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-29-2017

RU

11 Signins

137 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2017
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 137
  • Message 24 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-05-31, 11:59 AM

I have the same problem on T430. It started suddenly. 

I found out that the computer reboots with 0251 if it worked on battery for a while. If I disconnect and then immediately reconnect power cord, everything is ok.

Backup battery gives 3.2 V and it is not an issue.

 

What to look for next?

Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-11-2019

CN

3 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-11-2019
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 25
  • Message 25 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-06-11, 12:25 PM

I specifically registered an account to provide a possible solution. My T430s showed the same fault: it would restart after plugging in the AC power with a 0251 error. Replacing the CMOS backup battery could solve the problem, but it will soon fail. Today I turned off the T430s, then removed the main battery, plugged in the AC power, and turned T430s on, and there was no 0251 error. Then I installed the main battery module while the windows 10 is runnig and everything was fine. Repeatedly shut down and turn on or hibernation and wakeup, there is no 0251 error anymore. I hope this can be helpful.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

11-29-2017

RU

11 Signins

137 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎11-29-2017
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 137
  • Message 26 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-06-11, 17:59 PM

I second this. I disconnected CMOS battery, then powered off the laptop, removed the battery, connected AC cord, powered on the laptop on AC power and reconnected CMOS and main battery. Everything is OK now. Looks like a glitch ^^

Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-17-2015

IN

6 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-17-2015
  • Location: IN
  • Views: 43
  • Message 27 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-06-23, 13:20 PM

This workaround really works. I have been living with this issue for years. I didn't believe it would work as I have tried different things like changing the CMOS battery and all. But this time it really worked. Thanks for sharing it!

Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-19-2015

AT

23 Signins

105 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-19-2015
  • Location: AT
  • Views: 105
  • Message 28 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-06-24, 14:19 PM

Thanks! This sounds great. However, I haven't had a chance to try this yet.

 

However...does this solve the problem permanently, or do I have to do this every time I take out the power cord after the first time? 

Reply
Options

2 Posts

06-11-2019

CN

3 Signins

25 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎06-11-2019
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 25
  • Message 29 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-06-26, 8:20 AM
Until now, the error code 0251 has never appeared on my T430s. The laptop can be freely booted, shut down, hibernated, etc. as before.
Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-19-2015

AT

23 Signins

105 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-19-2015
  • Location: AT
  • Views: 105
  • Message 30 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2019-06-26, 10:04 AM

Thanks so much for the very quick reply. Next weeek our 2nd busiest time of the year will end, and I'll have time to try this out myself. I'll give feedback ASAP.

 

Thanks again!

- j

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete