English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

03-11-2019

SE

35 Signins

271 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2019
  • Location: SE
  • Views: 271
  • Message 31 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-01-01, 17:19 PM

Holy moly! This actually works. Thanks a bunch riverlet! I was a bit reluctant to believe it.. just sounded way to simple and weird, but I've been testing this for 3 days now and so far so good! Before it happend just as frequenly as everyone describes in this thread, it only worked plugging in/out the cable if the timeframe between each plug/unplug was very short, like max a few minutes (still I have noooo idea why). After I realised that this worked, I did the same with my battery #2, I plugged it in while the T430s was running, it got connected, and everything still works. So it looks like I have gotten back my beloved T430s! 

 

Btw I'm running Linux (ParrotOS), so this fix is NOT only Windows 10 specific.

 

I can't exagerate how much this issue have messed with me. Now finally with a fix... I'm a bit overwhelmed! My CS studies and grades were affected negatively, I had many deadlines right about this time when my T430s decided to freak out on me. I even bought a completely new T480 in panic because I quickly needed a new laptop to be able to continue with my projects! 

 

I don't know if this thread is dead or what, but I believe there must be a lot of old T430s out there still having this issue, and perhaps even other T-machines. The solution riverlet gives will MOST LIKELY be a solution for you as well (someone should mark it as a solution!). 

 

Reply to jlalbrecht: Yes, this solves the problem permanently! I can now plug/unplug the cable in all states: OFF, ON, suspended, hibernated. I did not have to follow kkursor's advice on doing the same with the CMOS battery. 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-11-2019

SE

35 Signins

271 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2019
  • Location: SE
  • Views: 271
  • Message 32 of 38

Re: T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-01-01, 17:31 PM

But this leads me to ask: How on earth can this simple fix work??!

 

 

Makes me even more fascinated by electronics. It really is like a labyrint, if you open the doors in the wrong order you are trapped!

 

If someone finds or understands (Lenovo technicians we need you now) the actual root of the problem, please do tell, I'm genuinely interested. Maybe a case for Louis Rossmann (YouTube streamer). 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

05-17-2020

CA

2 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎05-17-2020
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 20
  • Message 33 of 38

Re:T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-05-17, 14:09 PM

Thank you so much RIVERLET!!! I got an account on here just to say thank you. You're a lifesaver. It worked. Exactly what you said. Thank you so much.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

06-01-2020

US

1 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎06-01-2020
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5
  • Message 34 of 38

Re:T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-06-02, 0:02 AM

Another possible fix is to prevent your ThinkPad from turning on when you open the lid.

 

https://www.intowindows.com/prevent-laptop-from-starting-upon-opening-lid-in-windows-10/

 

My T430s has been having the 0251 error once in a few months even if I detach/attach the main battery as described in the forum. And once it started, it continued for several days even I  detached/attached the battery again  I updated the above setting, then the error stopped.    I still need to monitor for months to see the error completely goes way.

 

Reply
Options

1 Posts

09-04-2020

PL

1 Signins

5 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎09-04-2020
  • Location: PL
  • Views: 5
  • Message 35 of 38

Re:T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-09-04, 17:09 PM

Nope, detaching and attaching battery doesn't work. At least on my t430s. 
I have two batteries (main, and in CD dock).

 

I've changed BIOS battery two times, and replace whole power module on motherboard - it didn't help also.

 

I was also trying to attach charger when one of the batteries was inside - didn't work.

 

And attaching charger when lid is closed or open - the same result.

 

The only thing which works so far is to remove both batteries and plug my charger in, then attach batteries.

 

For whole life I thought that Apple computers are overpriced, but now I'm not so convinced about it.

 

 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-11-2019

SE

35 Signins

271 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2019
  • Location: SE
  • Views: 271
  • Message 36 of 38

Re:T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-09-15, 13:55 PM

Hi again dear T-owners, I'm sad to say that I still have this issue, and my T430s is still totally useless for MOBILE WORK (it only works reliably with the power plug connected at all times).

At first it looked like the battery trick worked, but after a few days/tests the old CMOS problem continued, and I forgot to update my results on this forum.

 

So! I retract my previous excitement about the fix.

I'm using my T480 instead.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

06-19-2015

AT

23 Signins

105 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎06-19-2015
  • Location: AT
  • Views: 105
  • Message 37 of 38

Re:T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-10-02, 11:43 AM

Yes, I have the same issue so far. It worked...until it didn't. My T430 - by far my favorite Lenovo of the 6 or 7 I've had and/or used - is now just a really nice looking desktop. :-(

Reply
Options

1 Posts

10-17-2020

CO

1 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎10-17-2020
  • Location: CO
  • Views: 0
  • Message 38 of 38

Re:T430s gets a 0251 error when power cord inserted, CMOS battery has been replaced

2020-10-17, 18:41 PM

Riverlet, this advice really fix my problem thank you so much. I really like thinkpads and i have my T431s, have been waiting for year and a half for any solution even changing the cmos battery and nothing worked. This solution worked for me unplugging the internal battery (not removable unlike the T430s) and with windows running I connected the battery.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete