Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

65 Posts

04-06-2009

New Zealand

103 Signins

817 Page Views

  • Posts: 65
  • Registered: ‎04-06-2009
  • Location: New Zealand
  • Views: 817
  • Message 1 of 41

T430u now available, but...

2012-11-01, 12:36 PM

I was hoping they would increase display resolution on the t430u, but, it only has 1366x768.  

 

So, no go for me.  No good lenovo. 

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-01, 12:43 PM
I ordered mine. While the LCD resolution is low, the picture quality and viewing angle is better than the T430s and X1 carbon's HD+. Also the fact that there is two ram doors and have switchable graphics for 700 to 800 dollars, I think it is relative bargain.

Finally the build quality and robustness of the T430u is something not often seen in the recent ThinkPads, it reminds me of the T400 and T60/T61.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

47 Posts

02-25-2011

United States of America

101 Signins

735 Page Views

  • Posts: 47
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 735
  • Message 3 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-01, 14:15 PM

Is the mSATA port SATA III compatible?

 

Is the 500GB easily removable without having to disassemble the whole laptop?

 

If I want to upgrade the drive myself does it have to be a 7mm drive or is 9.5mm supported?

 

Which docking station is supported?

 

Can I replace both DIMMs or is DIMM 1 soldered? (BTW, no way I am paying 450 bucks for a RAM upgrade. Are you serious? NewEgg sells 2x8GB DDR1600 for 25% of that cost.)

Reply
Options

7335 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29366 Signins

1682348 Page Views

  • Posts: 7335
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1682348
  • Message 4 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-01, 17:45 PM

for informational purposes, the hardware maintenance manual may be obtained here:

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=UM015821

 

pg 48-49 are the exploded view and the CRU parts listing. anything with "No" in both columns is technically FRU-only and may carry the risk of a voided warranty. that disclaimer mentioned, the HDD looks to be easily accessible under the lower cover. RAM is under the keyboard and does not appear soldered.

 

hope this helps.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

47 Posts

02-25-2011

United States of America

101 Signins

735 Page Views

  • Posts: 47
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 735
  • Message 5 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-02, 15:51 PM
@sabrin, thanks for the link to the manual. I still have the doubt regarding the mSata speed
Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 6 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-02, 16:04 PM
mSATA port is SATAII.

hdd up to 2.5 inch 9.5 mm drive, although you can use 7 mm drive too.

There are 2 RAM slots, which means you can upgrade it to 2 x 8 gigs of ram.

http://service.lenovo.partner-management.com/content/CourseWarePublic/14158/player.html
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

47 Posts

02-25-2011

United States of America

101 Signins

735 Page Views

  • Posts: 47
  • Registered: ‎02-25-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 735
  • Message 7 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-02, 23:17 PM

wrote:
mSATA port is SATAII.

hdd up to 2.5 inch 9.5 mm drive, although you can use 7 mm drive too.

There are 2 RAM slots, which means you can upgrade it to 2 x 8 gigs of ram.

http://service.lenovo.partner-management.com/content/CourseWarePublic/14158/player.html

Thanks man, exactly what I needed to know. I wonder why the mSata is only SATA2 speed.

Reply
Options

248 Posts

08-24-2010

New york

823 Signins

2655 Page Views

  • Posts: 248
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2010
  • Location: New york
  • Views: 2655
  • Message 8 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-07, 2:34 AM

I would totally buy the t430u if it had good resolution rather than horrible pixel with it has now.

 

i would also get it if it has 1tb of hdd rather than right now which only has 500gb hdd.

 

i would also get it if i can actually go and customize my thinkpad t430u rather than the pre-configured ones on lenovo website because right now you cant configure it a lot

Reply
Options

248 Posts

08-24-2010

New york

823 Signins

2655 Page Views

  • Posts: 248
  • Registered: ‎08-24-2010
  • Location: New york
  • Views: 2655
  • Message 9 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-07, 2:37 AM

do you have any information whether the pictures are going to look pixelated rather than fine? because it would be a shame for that to happen on this thinkpad t430u because it is indeed the ultimate thinkpad as noted on your signature in your post.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

11-05-2012

San Jose

10 Signins

128 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎11-05-2012
  • Location: San Jose
  • Views: 128
  • Message 10 of 41

Re: T430u now available, but...

2012-11-07, 3:02 AM

I feel the same exact way.. no 1600x900 or backlit keyboard =[ especially after being hyped up by one of lenovo's support specialist's comments about the t430u's screen:

 

"About the graphics, I am sure the graphics for the integrated might be around the 1600x 900 but with the Discrete graphics I would think that the resolution will be significantly higher. The T430u comes with Discrete graphics when you opt for the i5-3317m, i7-3517m, or the i3-3217m. The graphics should be an option when customizing this computer. Integrated should be an option when ordering the i5-3427m or the i5-3317m.

 

I hope this helps,

 

Alex"

 

Guess i'll have to wait another year until they come up with this, or else it would have been the perfect laptop for me.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms

Most Liked Authors

(Last 7 days)

View All