English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

11-16-2015

Seattle, WA

10 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2015
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 39
  • Message 1 of 24

T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-16, 22:33 PM

This is a brand new laptop with Windows 10 installed. The FN + Microphone Mute key doesn't mute the microphone but rest of the FN items like Speaker Mute, Brightness etc work as expected. This is little annoying that I have to manually do it each time. Is there any drive update that can fix this issue?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

476 Posts

07-14-2015

Bangalore

558 Signins

7627 Page Views

  • Posts: 476
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2015
  • Location: Bangalore
  • Views: 7627
  • Message 2 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-17, 7:01 AM

Hi prven,

 

Welcome to Lenovo Forums!

 

I guess there is no option to mute microphone by pressing Fn+microphone mute button, all you have to do is just press on the microphone mute button I hope it may work. In my laptop I do the same and the microphone will set to mute mode.

 

Please find the link given below to know the features of function keys in Lenovo laptops.

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo-C-E-K-M-N-and-V-Series/List-of-FN-Function-Key-features/ta-p/700841

 

Please let me know whether the above suggestion helped you.

Thank you, have a good day.

 

Did someone help you today? Click on the “upper half star” at the left side of the post to thank them with a Kudo!

 

Regards,

Naveen.v

Reply
Options

7 Posts

11-16-2015

Seattle, WA

10 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2015
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 39
  • Message 3 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-17, 7:13 AM

The link that you provided have different keyboard layout. Here is what I see in my laptop.

 

Fn + F1 = Mute Speaker

Fn + F2 = Reduce volume

Fn + F3 = Increase colume

Fn + F4 = Mute Microphone

Fn + F5 = Reduce screen brightness

Fn + F6 = Increase screen brightness

etc..

 

Rest of the Fn+F key works except Fn + F4 which is mute Microphone.

 

P.S: I have a previous lenovo T series with same keyboard layout with Windows 8 and the Fn + F4 mute microphone works in that. That is the reason I expect that to work in T450S as well.

 

Reply
Options

476 Posts

07-14-2015

Bangalore

558 Signins

7627 Page Views

  • Posts: 476
  • Registered: ‎07-14-2015
  • Location: Bangalore
  • Views: 7627
  • Message 4 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-17, 9:12 AM

Hi prven,

 

Please find the below given link and perform the steps as suggested.

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-11e-Windows-E-and-Edge/E530-special-keys-FN-F4-FN-F5-etc-are-not-working/ta-p/809209

 

Keep us posted with the results, so we can assist you further.

Thank you, have a good day.

 

Did someone help you today? Click on the “upper half star” at the left side of the post to thank them with a Kudo!

 

Regards,

Naveen.v

Reply
Options

56 Posts

06-22-2015

AF

65 Signins

565 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2015
  • Location: AF
  • Views: 565
  • Message 5 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-18, 16:06 PM

Can you try these things to help localize the problem?:

1. Press only F4 without any other key (also without FN key)
2. Press FN + F4 (seems you tryed this already xD)
3. Press CTRL + F4 (you can set the ctrl key as FN key in the bios, I did this with my laptop, switching the ctrl and fn key)
4. can you confirm other functions like volume up and down work? (and what key combination do you use for those? FN + F2/F3 ?
5. I see now the windows 10 on-screen keyboars still doesn't show pressed key's, sorry on the screen. You could try something like this: http://www.passmark.com/products/keytest.htm instead to check for mechanical failure in you F4 key. Can you open "On-Screen Keyboard" and press "F4" to confirm there is no mechanical problem with the F4 key?

!! It might be you don't see the F-key's on this on-screen keyboard. If so, follow the following:
- Go to windows start
- Go te "Settings"
- On the "Settings" window go to "Devices
- In the menu to the left go to "Typing"
- Scroll down and find in one of the last options "Add the standard keyboard layout as a touch keyboard option" and set this to "ON"
- Then try the On-Screen Keyboard" again, it should show the F-key's now so you can test if it works.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

11-18-2015

Germany

6 Signins

123 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 123
  • Message 6 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-18, 17:13 PM

Hi prven,

 

please can you check if you experience the same behaviour as I do?
It's not really clear for me if it is the same issue or not.

 

T450: mic mute function key has no effect (Win7 Pro 64bit) > still amplitude in 'Recording Devices'

 

...

It is really weird that onscreen display as well as the F4 function key LED let you assume that you successfully disabled the microphone but if you check the 'Recording Devices'  you still see an amplitude.

...

 

Thank you very much.

 

bye mememe

Reply
Options

7 Posts

11-16-2015

Seattle, WA

10 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2015
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 39
  • Message 7 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-18, 22:37 PM
OOPS. I was too quick to accept this as solution. The installation lights up the RED mute microphone key but the Microphone still picks up voice and it is not actually muted. This is just a bogus fix that just lights up just the button... The original issue still persists!
Reply
Options

7 Posts

11-16-2015

Seattle, WA

10 Signins

39 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎11-16-2015
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • Views: 39
  • Message 8 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-18, 22:38 PM

Yes, I have the same problem as well. I was assuming that the red light muted my mic. I don't know how many people was annoyed while I thought I was on mute...

Reply
Options

9 Posts

11-18-2015

Germany

6 Signins

123 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎11-18-2015
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 123
  • Message 9 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-19, 7:55 AM

In between I was able to check that this is not only a - let's say - a visual issue with the settings.
Recording software is recording if you have the MIC muted or not.

So who wanna spy on me or already did while I was not aware of an 'always on' MIC ;-)

Only disabling the specific recording device is helping for now but I do have to restart a program to use the MIC again because it is not recognizing the enabled device while already running.

Reply
Options

56 Posts

06-22-2015

AF

65 Signins

565 Page Views

  • Posts: 56
  • Registered: ‎06-22-2015
  • Location: AF
  • Views: 565
  • Message 10 of 24

Re: T450s - FN + Mute key not working on Windows 10

2015-11-19, 19:00 PM

Lol,

 

I checked this problem for myself, and it seems my T450s does the same. This is really bad!

 

The F4 key shows the orange mute led, and you get the muted symbol on your screen. But looking at the input devices I can indeed stil see the sound being detected in the VU-meter.


So I checked a few thing:

 

Recording in Audacity:

= I could not record my audio with any available input device (related to mic.) when "mute" was enabled

 

Using Skype:

= Skype actually keeps recording my audio even though I mute my mic!!!!

This proves it is possible for apps to run in the background and record everything I have done up till now!!!

 

I think this really is a MAJOR bug that should be fixed directly! I think this is a really sensitive subject for some people / groups, there could raise questions if this bug is made on purpose to face the mute functions to make spying possible.

 

I now dissabled the recording device itself. ofcourse it all stay's software, so even if it is dissabled you might question if the hardware itself isn't still readable. ;)

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms