English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

18 Posts

04-29-2015

Argentina

16 Signins

146 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎04-29-2015
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 146
  • Message 31 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2015-11-25, 14:49 PM
I've search for that and couldn't find any. Still, why would you want to m.2 ssd disks? Doesn't it make more sense to have one with more capacity? just out of curiosity.
Reply
Options

11 Posts

01-11-2009

London, UK

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎01-11-2009
  • Location: London, UK
  • Views: 63
  • Message 32 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2015-11-25, 14:54 PM

Yes. I suppose one may want two drives to run a RAID array, but for me one is enough. In fact I probably won't even use that, I will just install a 2.5" normal SSD as the main drive and call it a day. But I would like to make it future proof and so I'm questioning removing the drive in my configuration. Is it irreversible (i.e. there's no after-market slot replacement), and if so is it worth spending the extra $$ to maintain the option in the future?

Reply
Options

18 Posts

04-29-2015

Argentina

16 Signins

146 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎04-29-2015
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 146
  • Message 33 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2015-11-25, 15:34 PM
I still couldn't find an aftermarket addon/replacement. If you find one, let me know, since the plug is there and is available.
I decided to save the extra thirtysomething bucks and "risk" it.
If you feel that you'll need it, then add it and then remove and toss the drive which will be configured as hdd cache. Or do as I did.
Hope to have helped you!
Reply
Options

11 Posts

01-11-2009

London, UK

12 Signins

63 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎01-11-2009
  • Location: London, UK
  • Views: 63
  • Message 34 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2015-11-25, 17:44 PM

Yes, that's what I did as well (decided to save the $30 and removed it). As I said, I wouldn't even use one slot on day one at least, so no worries for now, it would just be comforting to know that there is an alternative.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

12-23-2015

US

7 Signins

36 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 36
  • Message 35 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2015-12-23, 19:54 PM

I just ordered a T450s with the 512G 7200RPM disk and the 3rd M.2 slot with an eye toward upgrading. From what I can tell, the specs for an SSD are better than for the M.2 ... I'm curious: Should I just go with an SSD such as Samsung Pro 1T and just skip the M.2 entirely? ... or is there an advantage to having both an M.2 SSD and a "regular" SATA3 SSD?

 

FWIW,

I posted this question here also:
https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Community-Spotlight/ThinkPad-T450s-SSD-migration-amp-OS-Installation-Clean-Clone-and/ba-p/2082736

 

I hope that's not a no-no

 

 

Reply
Options

8 Posts

06-21-2017

GB

17 Signins

224 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎06-21-2017
  • Location: GB
  • Views: 224
  • Message 36 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2017-07-06, 18:56 PM

Awesome post! if I understood correct m.2 is absolutely same like regular SATA ssd, just different form factor. What about NVME m.2 anyone try it with T450. Using my T450 second day with usual spinner, looking for upgrade and advise.

Reply
Options

2 Posts

10-06-2017

US

2 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎10-06-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 23
  • Message 37 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2017-10-06, 8:21 AM

I have this laptop and can confirm NVME will not work in the T450s. This laptop has 1 (or 2 in some models) "M.2 SATA" slots and not a "M.2 NVME" slot; therefore it is limited to 600MB/s max throughput. SATA and NVME M.2 slots are physically different and not compatible. However, an M.2 NVME slot can accept an M.2 SATA SSD card if the moterboard/BIOS allows for it but not the other way around. This is due to the indexing notch in the socket.

 

I cannot confirm if the 3rd M.2 Slot that some models have is NVME or SATA type. Most probably it is not NVME because the pictuers I've seen clearly show the OE 16GB SSD is an M.2 SATA type card

Reply
Options

2 Posts

10-06-2017

US

2 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎10-06-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 23
  • Message 38 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2017-10-06, 8:25 AM

The T450s has an M.2 SATA slot. It is pyshically not NVME compatible due to the indexing notch inside the M.2 connector on the motherboard.

Reply
Options

26 Posts

09-25-2015

CA

26 Signins

180 Page Views

  • Posts: 26
  • Registered: ‎09-25-2015
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 180
  • Message 39 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2017-11-08, 0:53 AM

is it possible to have System Expansion Slots: 3rd M.2 SSD slot on the t450?

 

where to buy it?

Reply
Options

2 Posts

11-11-2018

NL

3 Signins

19 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-11-2018
  • Location: NL
  • Views: 19
  • Message 40 of 41

Re: T450s m.2 SSD

2020-02-18, 10:11 AM

Maybe for some who are interested...

I've got a t450s - i7.

Installed Kubuntu 18.04 lts on it

- M2 disk 256GB https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/32741153443.html for my OS + documents etc

- Using 3,4 TB SSD as second disk for virtual machines backup from M2 to second disk etc

- add 16GB RAM next to the 4 GB fixed = total 20GB ram

 

So i can run 3 (windows) VM's at once.

This configuration is running well, but not very well.

Sometimes it look likes it tooks too long to do the job. Maybe it is the M2 card it self or the technicall hardware construction i am not sure. Problem could be also the nasty windows updates....

 

But in generall this setups works okee. Especially for a machine which is 5 years old.

I added a large batery in this machine. The pro of this is, you can run 9 hours (without VM's) , the position of the keyboard is better and it is easier to carry.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete