Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

04-19-2012

Czech Republic

95 Signins

194 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎04-19-2012
  • Location: Czech Republic
  • Views: 194
  • Message 1 of 7

T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2012-06-23, 21:24 PM

I have T500 and I would like to use 1394 expresscard 34, but the express card slot is 54 (I wonder why it is so). What is the easiest way to use a standard 34 express card there ? 

 

Reply
Options

437 Posts

08-13-2010

Tucson, Arizona

1589 Signins

6792 Page Views

  • Posts: 437
  • Registered: ‎08-13-2010
  • Location: Tucson, Arizona
  • Views: 6792
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2012-06-23, 22:06 PM

If your T500 slot is 54mm, then this type of adapter will enable use of 34mm devices. My T510 Express slot is 34mm.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Syba-SY-EXP60003-Laptop-ExpressCard-Adapter/dp/B002OEBO7I

Reply
Options

160 Posts

12-10-2008

United States of America

2294 Signins

13263 Page Views

  • Posts: 160
  • Registered: ‎12-10-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 13263
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2012-06-23, 23:53 PM

The link above shows a PCMCIA to Expresscard adapter, suitable for using old card bus cards in modern notebooks. The problem at hand however is just mechanical and can be solved by a simple plastic adapter like this one:

 

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-ExpressCard-34mm-Stabilizer-Adapter/dp/B002GHTIRQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1340494686&sr=8-1&keywords=expresscard+34+54+adaptor

 

Even without that stabilizer, 34 mm cards work in 54 mm slots, one just has to align them to one edge and carefully press them in.

Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

Canada

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2012-06-24, 0:12 AM

Well since this thread is up and my new T520 does NOT have USB 3.0 even though out for years. It begs the question whether the Express card slot will hand USB 3.0 speeds (Full). I don't know what the speed of it is since they don't tell us of spec it in the normal info. Although the earlier T series will be slower. Maybe someone can add the speeds supported by the current models. EG T500, T510, T520

 

Thanks

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

1022 Posts

01-07-2011

Sacramento, CA

550 Signins

8462 Page Views

  • Posts: 1022
  • Registered: ‎01-07-2011
  • Location: Sacramento, CA
  • Views: 8462
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2012-06-24, 2:49 AM

ExpressCard 54 slots accept both 54mm and 34mm ExpressCards.

Reply
Options

987 Posts

06-03-2011

United States of America

591 Signins

14790 Page Views

  • Posts: 987
  • Registered: ‎06-03-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 14790
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2012-06-24, 4:02 AM

wrote:

Well since this thread is up and my new T520 does NOT have USB 3.0 even though out for years. It begs the question whether the Express card slot will hand USB 3.0 speeds (Full). 

 


I can pull 185 MB/sec on my T420 w/ an AKE USB 3.0 express card. I had my Intel 320 SSD on the other end, so I was not device limited. The 320 is a SATA II SSD and does 250 MB/sec over an internal connection.

 

The T420 & T520 have Express Card 2.0 max speed 500MB/sec (including overhead). I'm not sure about earlier models. Express Card 1.0 tops out at 250MB/sec (including overhead). My USB 3.0 adapter works fine in my T400, but I don't currently have a way to measure its speed due to not having a fast external SSD to use to bench mark. If someone wants to send me one ;-) I'll test it.

 

My USB 3.0 card has the NEC / Renesas Chipset and benchmarks of motherboards that had this chipset built in only show results in the 180 MB/sec range. While I'm not seeing the 400+MB/sec speeds of USB 3.0, I am seeing the full speeds of the chipset in my add-in card.

 

If you need to connect mass storage, and you have an Optimus T520, then you should have an eSATAp port. That port will should you SATA II speeds comparable to an internal HD at up to 300MB/sec. 

 


X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Reply
Options

3 Posts

12-23-2016

United States of America

2 Signins

34 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 34
  • Message 7 of 7

Re:T500 - how to use 34 express card ?

2020-03-05, 6:02 AM

T510 apparently is ExpressCard 1.0 and does NOT support USB 3.0.  WHat a shame.  I'm going to have to throw away this T510 although perfectly functional, albeit a real dog performance wise.

 

What hurts is all the time I've spent trying to track down the specs and USB 3.0 problem for the T510.   Unfortunately, I've never been able to get Lenovo to state what the specifications for this box are (T510 ?!?!?  First, there's no owners manual for the T510  Crazy, but true!  .  I couldn't believe it when I found out.

This is the first computer I've owned in 30 years that "officially" did NOT provide an owner's manual -- not even a .pdf.  This is unheard of.  What were they thinking!

 

So to this day I can't get the specifications for this T510 I'm using.

 

By the way, USB 3.0 cards with the µPD720202 -  Renesas Electronics chipset  DOES NOT WORK with/in these Lenove ExpressCard slots.

 

Good luck.

 

MM in Los Angeles

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms