Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

04-10-2009

California

26 Signins

99 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎04-10-2009
  • Location: California
  • Views: 99
  • Message 1 of 6

T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-24, 20:13 PM

The BIOS is set to enable Selectable Graphics, and all four drivers show up in the Display Properties window, but there is no way to choose or enable Selectable Graphics that I can find. I left click on the battery icon, but there is no Selectable Graphics item to click on. I can't find it in Windows or Lenovo power mgmt tools. What am I missing?

 

Thanks

Reply
Answer
Options

8947 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

77732 Signins

2225030 Page Views

  • Posts: 8947
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2225030

Re: T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-25, 2:37 AM

 dwhiting:

 

>My IT guys installed Vista Enterprise 64 SP1 instead of Business 64. I'm wondering if that might have something to do with it?

 

zilla:

 

>You are clicking on the windows icon.

>You want the big battery icon that is the lenovo thinkvantage power manager.

 

[to the OP - asking the obvious...] Did your IT guys install the lenovo power manager?

 

Z.

 


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply

Replies(5)
Options

8947 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

77732 Signins

2225030 Page Views

  • Posts: 8947
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2225030
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-25, 1:52 AM

On my T400 Vista Business 64 with the latest Lenovo software updates (at least latest the last time the update tool worked) it is a right click on the battery icon, then "switchable graphics" is the 3rd from the top.  It used to be a left click before the update IIRC.

 

Is this missing on your machine?

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Options

7 Posts

04-10-2009

California

26 Signins

99 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎04-10-2009
  • Location: California
  • Views: 99
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-25, 2:01 AM

> Is this missing on your machine?

 

Correct. It is not present on my machine. When I right click on the battery icon, I see six items in the menu, with a horizontal separator between the third and fourth item:

 

Power Manager

Battery Information

Buy A Battery

----

Power Options

Windows Mobility Center

Show System Icons

 

When I left click on the battery icon, I can select a power plan, but there is nothing about Selectable Graphics.

 

My IT guys installed Vista Enterprise 64 SP1 instead of Business 64. I'm wondering if that might have something to do with it?

 

 

 

Reply
Options

453 Posts

12-26-2008

Sweden

14704 Signins

67019 Page Views

  • Posts: 453
  • Registered: ‎12-26-2008
  • Location: Sweden
  • Views: 67019
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-25, 2:10 AM

You are clicking on the windows icon.

You want the big battery icon that is the lenovo thinkvantage power manager.

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Reply
Answer
Options

8947 Posts

01-13-2008

United States of America

77732 Signins

2225030 Page Views

  • Posts: 8947
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2225030
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-25, 2:37 AM

 dwhiting:

 

>My IT guys installed Vista Enterprise 64 SP1 instead of Business 64. I'm wondering if that might have something to do with it?

 

zilla:

 

>You are clicking on the windows icon.

>You want the big battery icon that is the lenovo thinkvantage power manager.

 

[to the OP - asking the obvious...] Did your IT guys install the lenovo power manager?

 

Z.

 


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

7 Posts

04-10-2009

California

26 Signins

99 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎04-10-2009
  • Location: California
  • Views: 99
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: T500 under 64-bit Vista: can't get switchable graphics to work

2009-04-25, 3:39 AM

> You are clicking on the windows icon

 

Silly me! Thanks. That was it. Now I have switched to Integrated Graphics! I really appreciate the help.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms