Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

11 Posts

11-24-2010

Iowa

126 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2010
  • Location: Iowa
  • Views: 261
  • Message 1 of 9

T510 Ram speed

2010-11-24, 22:12 PM

I just ordered my new Lenovo Thinkpad T510.  I then came on the forum and read that the T510 can't actually utilize the 1333 mhz ram.  Is this true?  I ordered the 4 gb of DDr3 1333 Mhz ram with my laptop.  Is this pointless?

Reply
Answer
Options

128 Posts

10-22-2008

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

241 Signins

2214 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 2214

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-24, 22:46 PM

Welcome to the forum Rezabrya. This was discussed a few days ago.

 

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T510-vs-W510/m-p/320531#M35073

 

I wish you had seen it before ordering. You still can make use of their full speed on a different laptop. Though the speed difference will never be noticable.

 

Reply

Replies(8)
Answer
Options

128 Posts

10-22-2008

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

241 Signins

2214 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 2214
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-24, 22:46 PM

Welcome to the forum Rezabrya. This was discussed a few days ago.

 

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/T510-vs-W510/m-p/320531#M35073

 

I wish you had seen it before ordering. You still can make use of their full speed on a different laptop. Though the speed difference will never be noticable.

 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

11 Posts

11-24-2010

Iowa

126 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2010
  • Location: Iowa
  • Views: 261
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-24, 23:13 PM
It would have been great to know before ordering, because at the time, they were also offering a free upgrade to the 4 gb of 1066. Do you think I could still call at this point and change my order? I ordered it on monday. If I can change it, do you think they would still honor the free 4 gb upgrade?
Reply
Options

11 Posts

11-24-2010

Iowa

126 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2010
  • Location: Iowa
  • Views: 261
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-25, 1:09 AM
Sorry for the bump but can anyone answer my last question?
Reply
Options

128 Posts

10-22-2008

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

241 Signins

2214 Page Views

  • Posts: 128
  • Registered: ‎10-22-2008
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 2214
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-25, 2:10 AM

AFAIK, Lenovo will have to cancel the whole order and place a new one in such event.

 

Whether they will honour the 'double memory promotion'? Well guess it's your lucky day, how about 15% discount on your new order instead? e-coupon: BLACKFRIDAY

 

(Far better than the previous discount on an over priced memory bank in the first place anyways!)

 

Reply
Options

11 Posts

11-24-2010

Iowa

126 Signins

261 Page Views

  • Posts: 11
  • Registered: ‎11-24-2010
  • Location: Iowa
  • Views: 261
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-25, 2:24 AM
I noticed that if you have configured your laptop, it says you cannot cancel the order. I am thinking if I call and complain about them not saying anywhere that the 1333 ram doesnt actually do anything, they may let me get the 1066 instead. I can either modify my current order or make a whole new order. I don't care which one they choose.

I am pretty mad that they offer the 1333 as an option if it doesn't actually do anything. I've been had.
Reply
Options

325 Posts

10-26-2008

Los Angeles

539 Signins

7524 Page Views

  • Posts: 325
  • Registered: ‎10-26-2008
  • Location: Los Angeles
  • Views: 7524
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-25, 8:01 AM

Rezabrya, keep in mind that your new laptop has TWO memory slots/sockets/connectors, which each are capable of holding ONE memory module, or DIMM.

You didn't pay extra for the memory because it was 1333 MHz memory. You paid extra because your 4GB of total memory consisted of ONE 4GB DIMM instead of TWO 2GB DIMMs. In fact, if you look at Lenovo's current tabook, you'll see that ALL 4GB DIMMs that currently ship with the T510/W510 are 1333 MHz memory, and ALL other DIMMs that currently ship with those two machines are 1066 MHz memory. Also, if you look at the web page at which you configure the T510 laptop for purchase, you'll see that for all of the 1333 MHz memory, it says "at 1066 MHz," meaning that the memory, despite being 1333 MHz memory, will only be run by the machine at 1066 MHz.

Also, because you bought your memory as just ONE DIMM instead of as TWO DIMMs, you will not receive the speed advantages of "dual-channel memory access" (where the computer accesses two DIMMs simultaneously to improve the speed of memory access). Unfortunately, the "Help me decide" link for memory in the purchase configuration page does NOT discuss "dual-channel memory access."

Note that the main reason someone would order just a single 4GB DIMM with their laptop, is if they plan to order another matching 4GB DIMM later to get a total of 8GB of memory. Otherwise, if you order two 2GB DIMMs now, and later want 8GB total, then you'll have to dump the two 2GB DIMMs and replace them with two 4GB DIMMs, which can be a more costly route to 8GB. The downside of that cost-saving strategy of buying just one DIMM now, of course, is that you forego the speed advantage of dual-channel memory access until you buy and install the second DIMM.

Finally, there seems to be a misconception by users that 1333 MHz memory costs more than 1066 MHz memory. This is not necessarily the case. For example, if you go to the highly-regarded vendor crucial.com, and look up what memory they sell for the T510, you'll see that 1333 MHz memory and 1066 MHz memory for that machine, as with many other machines, cost exactly the same.

So if you're not familiar with the in's and out's of all of this, and don't read the options in the configuration page carefully, you can easily make mistakes. But in your case it's certainly not the end of the world, whichever way you decide to go. For dual-channel memory access, though, it's preferable that BOTH DIMMs are of the same type from the same manufacturer. So if you simply go to crucial.com and pay whatever meager amount they're charging for another 4GB DIMM, I'm not certain that it will have the same TIMING specs as your current 4GB DIMM, which may or may not make any noticeable performance difference (probably not, is my guess, although I can't guarantee that). Or, if you're so inclined, you can buy a second 4GB DIMM from Lenovo, for whatever they charge, and as long as you don't wait so long that the DIMM technology changes, it should match what's already coming with the machine.

In any case, good luck!


Reply
Options

12 Posts

11-27-2010

Canada

15 Signins

152 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2010
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 152
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2010-11-27, 2:20 AM

Jimbo et al:

I was so glad I read this thread before making a purchase of a T510 (which I still intend to buy with the Back Friday coupon code). I was all set to max out the RAM at 8GB (PC3-10600 DDR3 SDRAM 1333MHz), but now I will go with the 4GB (PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM 1067MHz) and the 7200rpm 500GB drive.

 

Any further suggestions before purchasing this model would be appreciated. :smileyhappy:

James M. Fisher
Microsoft Windows Consumer MVP
WindowsTalk


T510 (4313-CTO)
Reply
Options

85 Posts

12-02-2009

United States of America

157 Signins

754 Page Views

  • Posts: 85
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2009
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 754
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: T510 Ram speed

2011-10-20, 5:33 AM

I sure am glad I found this old thread. I too almost ordered the wrong ram but fixed it last min. Thank you and it will be nice to be running 8 GBs of ram.

ThinkPad X1 Carbon 6th Gen | Core i7-8650U | 16 GB RAM | WQHD | 1- TB Solid State Drive
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms