Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

2 Posts

11-15-2011

Romania

5 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 2
  • Registered: ‎11-15-2011
  • Location: Romania
  • Views: 24
  • Message 1 of 3

T520 screen brightness problem

2011-11-17, 22:31 PM

I have a problem with my T520 screen brightness since 3 days ago.

If the laptop is connected to the AC, the screen works fine on the highest brightness setting (15), but if I turn it down to 14, it goes 90% dim and I can barely see anything. If I turn it down again to 13 or less, it goes completely dark. This happens in Windows 7, Ubuntu and the BIOS  and POST screen.

If the laptop is on the battery only, the screen only works if the screen is mostly white (if I open a folder or a new tab in the browser) and on full brightness. However, if I open anything that is more the 50% dark, the screen starts to flicker and it blacks out. If I switch to something white again, it flickers back to life. 

I have the 1920x1080 screen. I have updated my video card drivers. The Lenovo Power Managers are updated.

What do you think is the problem? Some software problem or something hardware?

Reply
Options

315 Posts

02-21-2008

Singapore

577 Signins

3826 Page Views

  • Posts: 315
  • Registered: ‎02-21-2008
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 3826
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: T520 screen brightness problem

2011-11-18, 3:05 AM

Most likely serious hardware problem. Try running the Thinkvantage toolbox and test the monitor. Unless you have changed the gamma settings somewhere (which is unlikely), then probably time to send in for repair.

 

Since you have tested out with so many OS, it's unlikely software issues....

Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3314 Signins

95288 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95288
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: T520 screen brightness problem

2011-11-18, 3:59 AM
It sounds like hardware. Maybe some of the ribbon cables' paths are no longer isolated and the data signal is getting routed to the power route.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms