Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

6 Posts

08-13-2012

United States

15 Signins

115 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-13-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 115
  • Message 1 of 9

T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-05, 6:21 AM

Hi all,

 

I added a Corsair Vengeance 4GB to my T530 which comes with a stock Samsung 4GB ram, but CPUID showed that the memory speed has been lowerd to 667MHz instead of 800MHz, any advice on how to make them run at the defalut speed(800MHz) would be greatly appreciated!

 

P.S. I tried to upgrade the BIOS to the newest version but no use.

Reply
Options

8 Posts

09-02-2012

Omaha NE

25 Signins

191 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2012
  • Location: Omaha NE
  • Views: 191
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-05, 11:54 AM

I’m not absolutely 100% positive but I’ll bet that your CPU is running at 1333FSB.  Since your RAM can’t run faster than your CPU, in order to get it to run at 800 you’ll need to overclock your CPU to 1600.

Reply
Options

6 Posts

08-13-2012

United States

15 Signins

115 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-13-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 115
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-05, 16:15 PM

Thanks for yours input but the stock samsung ram is running at 800MHz (DDR1600) w/o the additional ram, and the CPU is i5-3210m.

Reply
Options

7463 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29481 Signins

1686973 Page Views

  • Posts: 7463
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1686973
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-05, 16:19 PM

'afternoon.

 

if you pull the samsung stick, leaving only the cosair, what speed do you see? 667mhz - ddr31333?

 

cheers.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

6 Posts

08-13-2012

United States

15 Signins

115 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-13-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 115
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-05, 20:02 PM

Both of them when alone is at 800MHz, the only difference is the timing, samsung is 11 whereas cosair is 9. Also tried to swap the slot position 0 and 1. I know this might be a compatibility issue just wanna know if there's any walk-around, the BIOS seems take priority of timing rather than frequency since when together the timing is at 9-9-9-24(Corsair). by the way the Corsair uses hynix chips.

Reply
Options

7463 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29481 Signins

1686973 Page Views

  • Posts: 7463
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1686973
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-05, 20:13 PM

well that rules out the Corsair stick being mislabeled as DDR1600.

 

i can't think of any workaround to make the mismatched pair play together better, sorry. it's controlled at such a basic hardware level.

 

regards.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

6 Posts

08-13-2012

United States

15 Signins

115 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎08-13-2012
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 115
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-06, 1:30 AM

yeah thanks anyway, guess I have no choice but to return it...

Reply
Options

987 Posts

06-03-2011

United States of America

592 Signins

14800 Page Views

  • Posts: 987
  • Registered: ‎06-03-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 14800
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-06, 7:51 AM

Next time go with a matched pair. 

X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Type 20BT i7-5500U, 2560x1440 (non-touch), Win 10 Pro, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD, Intel 7625 WiFi, BT 4.0 | ThinkVision P24q-10 monitor

------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number, and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.
Reply
Options

8 Posts

09-02-2012

Omaha NE

25 Signins

191 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2012
  • Location: Omaha NE
  • Views: 191
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: T530 memory not at full speed after upgrade with 4GB Corsair Vengeance

2012-09-06, 16:32 PM

I ordered this RAM a couple of days ago.  It’s Cas Latency 11 and one of the reviewers on the Egg installed it successfully in a T430.  Just an FYI but it looks like it might suit your needs to a T.

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220656&Tpk=PSD38G16002S

 

It's also available at Amazon.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms