Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

15 Posts

07-09-2019

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

16 Signins

110 Page Views

• Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Views: 110
  • Message 1 of 3

*URGENT* T440 Not Booting

2020-09-29, 11:12 AM

Hello everyone,

My T440 (not S or P) has stopped working almost completely. I'm a student studying Computer Science so it's really important that I get it working again as soon as possible - particularly with having to work from home at the moment. To give you a little context, the device works flawlessly most of the time but, very occasionally when hot-swapping the external battery, the device turns off completely; if you try to switch it back on, the F1, F4, power button, & ThinkPad logo LEDs stay on continuously and the device won't boot or even switch off again. I've always thought little of it because I would just press the reset button and it would work fine again. The other day however, this happened and I didn't have access to anything small enough to reach the reset button. It therefore stayed in this state for a while hoping I could sort it when I got home in a few hours. The laptop did fall of a stool at one point a little later on that day, but I'm very confident that caused no further damage since it's generally very durable - so there was no physical damage - and the symptoms it was showing hadn't changed whatsoever. Just a footnote, I'm in no position to buy another laptop altogether and this is the only computer I have.

The symptoms it's showing are as follows:

• When power button is pressed, F1 & F4 orange LEDs activate along with the power button's green LED & ThinkPad Logo's Red LED on the lid - F4's LED then goes out (all as normal).