English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

09-17-2008

Vancouver, Canada

7 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-17-2008
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Views: 20
  • Message 1 of 3

Upgrade R61 14.1'' widescreen -> T400

2008-09-17, 23:38 PM

Hi I own R61 (P/N 7732-1EG) and I'm about to upgrade to T400 with the discrete ATI GPU. I have a few questions about the interchangebility of parts:

 

- will the R61 non protruding battery (FRU P/N 42T5225 ASM P/N 42T5226, assume 4 cell) work with the T40?

 

- will the T400 9 cell batterywork with the R61?

 

- will the DVD-RW from R61 work with T400 (could buy only the combo)?

 

- will the 2GB RAM stick that I have in the R61 expansion RAM slot work with the T400 (assume yes)?

 

- could I switch the keyboard from the R61 with the one in T400? (my mother tongue comes with funny letters)?

 

 I suspect the answer to all will be yes. I'd just feel much better knowing now then being surprised.

 

Thank you

 

Jakub

Reply
Options

3290 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3290
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Upgrade R61 14.1'' widescreen -> T400

2008-09-18, 4:33 AM

T400 use DDR 3 ram, R61 use DDR 2 ram, so it is not intercompatible.

 

The R61 use the Ultrabay Enhanced devices, while T400 use serial Ultrabay slim devices i think, the connector is different and the size of the physical is also different.

 

R61 should have same keyboard layout and screw down points with the T400, however you may have to bend the connector cable abit.

 

I think the battery should be the same, as long as both of which are the 14.1 widescreen model. 

 

 

Reply
Options

3 Posts

09-17-2008

Vancouver, Canada

7 Signins

20 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎09-17-2008
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada
  • Views: 20
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Upgrade R61 14.1'' widescreen -> T400

2008-09-18, 5:40 AM

Thanks wjli2!

 

Lots of interesting thoughts... Didn't know T400 uses DDR3. There's a thread discussing batteries and that at least should be OK. Don't feel like paying for yet another burner, but well... Keyboard is optional benefit.

 

Thanks again!

 

Jakub

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete