Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

24 Posts

12-13-2009

Minnesota

69 Signins

478 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Views: 478
  • Message 1 of 14

mSATA for T530

2012-08-30, 17:50 PM

Hi, everyone.  I have a spanking new T530 with i7 quad cpu.  I'd like to populate the mini-PCIe slot with the largest mSATA flash SSD I can find.  Any recommendations?  Is it feasible to put the OS on the mSATA "drive" and use the HDD just for data?

Reply
Answer
Options

6487 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

28953 Signins

1658578 Page Views

  • Posts: 6487
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1658578

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-08-30, 18:08 PM

'afternoon.

 

an mSATA SSD will surely work in your T530. the largest i've seen to-date is 256gb from several manufacturers. and... you can definitely use it as the os/swap/apps drive leaving the platter drive for data and personal files. this is exactly how my X220 is deployed and i'm quite please with the set up.

 

one caveat for you, though. while the X220, X220T, T420, T520 and W520 list the mPCIe WWAN as a CRU (customer replaceable unit), the x30 series lists it as a FRU (field replaceable unit), meaning, generally, that an authorized tech must do it. so, technically, with your machine, if something "bad" were to happen while you had it opened up to install the mSATA SSD, your warranty might be voided.

 

just something to keep in mind.

 

cheers.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply

Replies(13)
Answer
Options

6487 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

28953 Signins

1658578 Page Views

  • Posts: 6487
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1658578
  • Message 2 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-08-30, 18:08 PM

'afternoon.

 

an mSATA SSD will surely work in your T530. the largest i've seen to-date is 256gb from several manufacturers. and... you can definitely use it as the os/swap/apps drive leaving the platter drive for data and personal files. this is exactly how my X220 is deployed and i'm quite please with the set up.

 

one caveat for you, though. while the X220, X220T, T420, T520 and W520 list the mPCIe WWAN as a CRU (customer replaceable unit), the x30 series lists it as a FRU (field replaceable unit), meaning, generally, that an authorized tech must do it. so, technically, with your machine, if something "bad" were to happen while you had it opened up to install the mSATA SSD, your warranty might be voided.

 

just something to keep in mind.

 

cheers.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

455 Posts

05-26-2012

Raleigh, North carolina

191 Signins

14841 Page Views

  • Posts: 455
  • Registered: ‎05-26-2012
  • Location: Raleigh, North carolina
  • Views: 14841
  • Message 3 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-08-30, 18:22 PM

Hey Atraveler,

 

Just wanted to give you the links to all the information that sarbin has offered and verification, also you can use these links to do the replacement yourself (HMM) and find part numbers to order one from Lenovo if you wish.

 

Psref:

http://www.lenovo.com/psref/pdf/tabook.pdf

 

HMM:

http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc/pccbbs/mobiles_pdf/0b48474.pdf

 

Part numbers:

http://www.lenovoquickpick.com/usa/system/thinkpad/t-series/t530-quad-core

 

As sarbin has said the largest one available from lenovo is Thinkpad 256GB OPAL-Capable FDE SATA 6.0GB/s 7mm. $399 and other mSATA;s from other company's.

 

Best Regards,

 

Hiro

Did you find a post Awesome? A response just Outstanding? Kudo them!
Did the post you read answer your question? Did someone help you figure out your problem? Hit Solution Provided and give that person a pat on the back for helping you out!
Reply
Options

24 Posts

12-13-2009

Minnesota

69 Signins

478 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Views: 478
  • Message 4 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-08-30, 21:54 PM

Fantastic!  Is the MSATA drive presented as just another disk drive letter in the OS?

Reply
Options

6487 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

28953 Signins

1658578 Page Views

  • Posts: 6487
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1658578
  • Message 5 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-08-30, 23:05 PM

yes.

also listed properly in bios, so you can move it above the main bay drive for booting purposes.

 

cheers.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

50 Posts

09-02-2012

United States of America

873 Signins

2654 Page Views

  • Posts: 50
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2654
  • Message 6 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-09-02, 22:08 PM

Are you saying that if we purchase a mSATA drive and put it in ourselves we may void our warranty? Can you point me to where that is mentioned or alluded to? I looked through the links below but can't find anything that would indicate that. Thanks for the help.

Reply
Options

6487 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

28953 Signins

1658578 Page Views

  • Posts: 6487
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1658578
  • Message 7 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-09-02, 22:16 PM

in the *20 models and prior, the wwan card is listed as a CRU (customer replaceable unit), hence opening the machine to access and swap cards into/out of the mPCIe slot is allowed by the end user without danger of voided warranty. for the *30 models, it's been reported that wwan is now FRU (field replaceable unit), meaning authorized service techician. not sure the reason for the change, but there it is.

 

hth to clarify a bit.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

50 Posts

09-02-2012

United States of America

873 Signins

2654 Page Views

  • Posts: 50
  • Registered: ‎09-02-2012
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 2654
  • Message 8 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-09-02, 23:58 PM

This seems strange, because to access RAM and wwan is the same process. I wonder if it is specific to the WWAN card or mSATA that Lenovo sells or to the actuall slot for them?

Reply
Options

6487 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

28953 Signins

1658578 Page Views

  • Posts: 6487
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1658578
  • Message 9 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-09-03, 1:02 AM

might want to give Service a call and see what they say.

 

regards.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply
Options

24 Posts

12-13-2009

Minnesota

69 Signins

478 Page Views

  • Posts: 24
  • Registered: ‎12-13-2009
  • Location: Minnesota
  • Views: 478
  • Message 10 of 14

Re: mSATA for T530

2012-09-08, 12:24 PM

Ok, here's an update.  Got my new Crucial M4 256GB mSata mini-pcie SSD yesterday.  No trouble installing it in the space under keyboard, however it remains what to do with the antenna cables.  I just gently worked them back on themselves to get them out of the way. Removed the harddrive, then rebooted and reinstalled the software pre-load using the backup CDs I had made earlier. Worked flawlessly, howwever I wish there were a simple way to have excluded the recovery partition. After getting through all the setup reliminaries, reinstall the old hard drive, and reboot from the SSD.  Wow.  Boots in less than 10 secs.

 

Btw, there's no issue about the warranty doing this.  The T530 user guide goes through this procedure in graphic detail.  Clearly intended for the end user.

 

Thanks, all, for this great idea!

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms