Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

05-09-2011

Brazil

48 Signins

108 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎05-09-2011
  • Location: Brazil
  • Views: 108
  • Message 1 of 3

t410 - Multiple monitors

2011-11-10, 3:03 AM

Hi,

 

I am thinking of buying 2 external monitors to plug into my T410, one on the VGA port an the other on the Display Port.. I don't have any docking station.

 

From what I have read in other posts, I understand the following :

 

- I'll need a display port to DVI ot to HDMI converter (any trick here ?)

- Only 2 monitors can be active at once, unless the laptop has the NVidia optimus technology

 

I'd be OK with only 2 monitors, but I want to be sure the 2 monitors can be the 2 external ones, the internal monitor being inactive ?

 

I have an Nvidia NVS3100 graphic chip, but I don't know if it is Optimus-enabled. The product code is : 2522-EM2. Can someone help with this ?

 

Thanks !

Reply
Options

21115 Posts

12-20-2008

Australia, Melbourne

20622 Signins

444194 Page Views

  • Posts: 21115
  • Registered: ‎12-20-2008
  • Location: Australia, Melbourne
  • Views: 444194
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: t410 - Multiple monitors

2011-11-10, 4:00 AM
go into your bios under graphics card what options are listed, can you switch between internal, discrete and auto switching?

If your machine doesn't have the Optimus (the T410 requires the series 3 dock to drive 3 external monitors + 1 internal).

Those with no Optimus technology can drive two external monitors (DP + VGA) without the internal LCD switched on.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Reply
Options

315 Posts

02-21-2008

Singapore

577 Signins

3826 Page Views

  • Posts: 315
  • Registered: ‎02-21-2008
  • Location: Singapore
  • Views: 3826
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: t410 - Multiple monitors

2011-11-12, 15:17 PM

Iam using my lenovo with 1x24, 1x26 inch monitors. No trick, just get the correct displayport to DVI or displayport to HDMI cables and you are good to go. EXCEPT that some monitors don't like the displayport to DVI connections due to limitations. I bought several from ebay (shipped from hongkong).

 

You can easily select

2x external monitors

1x laptop 1x external monitors

 

Intel or Nvdia cards works fine....no difference, you either use the default Intel Graphics program supplied by lenovo or pay a bit more...I use ultramon, good software






 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms