Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

05-27-2012

usa

21 Signins

69 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎05-27-2012
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 69
  • Message 21 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-05-28, 13:36 PM

Thanks. I have tried all 11 channels and still cannot connect. The IT help desk tried to connect to my router through windows and that didn't work either. it sounds like there's a conflict between the laptop and the 2wire - no?

Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

Canada

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 22 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-05-28, 15:00 PM
Channels have nothing to do with it if your signal is reasnably good. Clear channels only help at extreme distances.

have them get it working with another router.

Do you have anything else working at you place with that router?
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

2483 Posts

04-08-2011

United States of America

5471 Signins

46460 Page Views

  • Posts: 2483
  • Registered: ‎04-08-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 46460
  • Message 23 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-05-29, 2:02 AM

wrote:

Thanks. I have tried all 11 channels and still cannot connect. The IT help desk tried to connect to my router through windows and that didn't work either. it sounds like there's a conflict between the laptop and the 2wire - no?


If you are going to the office tomorrow and can have one of the IT folks remove Lenovo Thinkvantage Access Connections, do it.

 

I am not convinced there is anything wrong with the router.  Sometimes it's best to remove some of the management layers and Access Connections is an optional software product that isn't needed with Windows 7.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

05-27-2012

usa

21 Signins

69 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎05-27-2012
  • Location: usa
  • Views: 69
  • Message 24 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-05-30, 20:34 PM

Trying a new laptop. Help desk has raised the white flag!

Reply
Options

2445 Posts

03-09-2012

Canada

5597 Signins

25336 Page Views

  • Posts: 2445
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 25336
  • Message 25 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-05-30, 20:53 PM

They're retiring then?

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

2483 Posts

04-08-2011

United States of America

5471 Signins

46460 Page Views

  • Posts: 2483
  • Registered: ‎04-08-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 46460
  • Message 26 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-06-06, 17:08 PM

Did the new machine resolve the issue?

Reply
Options

2598 Posts

03-19-2009

Germany

5614 Signins

73478 Page Views

  • Posts: 2598
  • Registered: ‎03-19-2009
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 73478
  • Message 27 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-06-07, 13:22 PM

Too many not asked questions:

  • Did you change the encryption password on the router to a password only containing digits and chars but no special characters like ",#@ and no foreign language chars like ßéöäâ etc?
  • Did you check and compare the wireless LAN mode (802.11 B/G, G-Only, N-Only, G/N mixed mode)?
  • Did you check the log on the router? - In many cases you will find the reason, why a connect had not been accepted.
  • What encryption is enabled on the router (WEP,  WPA-TKIP or AES, WPA2...)?

Additional:

As mentioned above in annother posting sometimes there can exist incompatibilities beteen router and client-hardware. In that case replacing of the router helps.

--------------------------------
My home-forum: http://www.thinkpad-forum.de
Wiki: Deutsches ThinkPad-Wiki English ThinkWiki
My ThinkPad-Collection
Coffee must be like women's eyes: deep black & shiny. ThinkPads have to be like men's feet: deep black & matte!
Reply
Options

2483 Posts

04-08-2011

United States of America

5471 Signins

46460 Page Views

  • Posts: 2483
  • Registered: ‎04-08-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 46460
  • Message 28 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2012-06-07, 15:13 PM

wrote:

Too many not asked questions:

  • Did you change the encryption password on the router to a password only containing digits and chars but no special characters like ",#@ and no foreign language chars like ßéöäâ etc?
  • Did you check and compare the wireless LAN mode (802.11 B/G, G-Only, N-Only, G/N mixed mode)?
  • Did you check the log on the router? - In many cases you will find the reason, why a connect had not been accepted.
  • What encryption is enabled on the router (WEP,  WPA-TKIP or AES, WPA2...)?

Additional:

As mentioned above in annother posting sometimes there can exist incompatibilities beteen router and client-hardware. In that case replacing of the router helps.


Yes, but at the beginning of the thread the original poster indicated that other WIFI devices were working so I assumed he had already run through the checklist of items like that.

Reply
Options

9 Posts

11-06-2013

Houston

6 Signins

71 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎11-06-2013
  • Location: Houston
  • Views: 71
  • Message 29 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues (2Wire###)

2013-11-08, 16:41 PM

2Wire routers (SSID = 2Wire###) are an abomination. Our home router and many public routers I typically use are 2Wire and Win 7, Win 8, Win 8.1 all cause router to reset ad infinitum and ad nauseum.

 

ATT is the Houston ISP using this junk. Contacting them is useless, they have no intention of correcting the device firmware. In fact, 2Wire is a defunct business. 2Wire support ended with their acquisition by another hardware provider. The probable outcome is companies stuck with 2Wire routers are pressured to buy a new fleet by 2Wire's new owner. So, ATT is not a complete villain. But they are a villain, in that firmware writers can be found and this issue could be alleviated.

 

I have also tried every config I have read about on my local machines to find a work around, none of which have ever actually fixed the problem. As well, I do not want my computer settings altered for this one defective router, as most of the protocols and settings give me security.

 

So, what do you do? Use a wire at home, or connect wirelessly to any other available unsecured wireless connection. The main drawback is not all 2Wire routers are SSID = 2Wire###, the default. Many are renamed to the local merchants' own ID, like empirecafe, accessed with a passcode. It only takes 2 minutes to know if they are 2Wire, as the connection drops and the router is rebooting. As a good citizen, I do not connect to these networks as I am the problem for them.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

07-06-2014

United States

1 Signins

22 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎07-06-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 22
  • Message 30 of 31

Re: t420 connect to router issues

2014-07-06, 5:36 AM

Probably a good answer, but I need to know what to do if I am in fact blocked.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms