Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

10 Posts

12-23-2013

Switzerland

7 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 1 of 19

2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-23, 14:12 PM

Have been trying to upgrade my T410 running Win7 SP1 64bit  from 2x2GB to 2x4GB RAM (KVR13S9S8/4, Kingston ValueRAM 4GB SO-DIMM, 204Pin, DDR3-1333MHz, 4GB, DDR-1333 (PC3-10600), CL9, 204-Pin) but Windows doesn't start with this memory.

 

The weird thing is that the PC boots and i can enter the BIOS and can see the 8GB installed, but Windows 7 hangs at the startup screen and never comes up. I first thought of defect in RAM and have requested replacement from vendor, but same issue with new RAM modules.

 

Any idea why this is? Tx

Reply
Answer
Options

4 Posts

12-30-2013

Bucharest, Romania

13 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2013
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania
  • Views: 55

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2014-01-09, 11:29 AM

Welp, it's fixed. Went to the shop to get a new pair of memory sticks, asked them to test the modules in the laptop first, and they worked like a charm.

 

The new modules are made by Samsung (labeled as such, and chips marked SEC = Samsung Electronics Corporation), and were procured through the Dell spare parts and upgrades channel. The only notable difference vs. the KingMax modules I purchased aftermarket is that the Samsung modules have 16 chips, 8 on each side, while the KingMax have 8 chips in total, 4 on each side. Other than that, there's no other difference on the label: both brands have the same standards printed, same speed (1333 MHz, CL9) etc.

 

This leads me to think that the KingMax modules have high-density chips which are not compatible with the laptop - actually, the memory controller in the processor is what I'm suspecting. The Samsung chips are lower-density and work flawlessly.

Reply

Replies(18)
Options

725 Posts

11-21-2013

United States of America

837 Signins

10702 Page Views

  • Posts: 725
  • Registered: ‎11-21-2013
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 10702
  • Message 2 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-23, 16:18 PM
Does it boot with one stick installed?
Reply
Options

12078 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40349 Signins

424919 Page Views

  • Posts: 12078
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 424919
  • Message 3 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-23, 16:37 PM
Do you have the current BIOS?

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-23-2013

Switzerland

7 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 4 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-23, 16:59 PM

Yes i do, have downloaded the latest version from Lenovo while trying the new RAM.

Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-23-2013

Switzerland

7 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 5 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-23, 17:11 PM
Let me try and report back.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-30-2013

Bucharest, Romania

13 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2013
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania
  • Views: 55
  • Message 6 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-30, 8:12 AM

Hi,

 

I have the exact same kind of problem. The T410 model 25376R9 has 2+1 GB RAM, the latest BIOS, and Windows 7 x64 (a corporate bundle). Trying to speed it up, I have purchased a pair of KingMax 4GB DDR3 1333MHz CL9 modules (PC3-10600). BIOS sees them just fine, either as a single module or both, or in any combination with the preinstalled modules.

 

However, Windows hangs during boot-up, right when the animated logo should appear. The hard drive just stops, and stays there. Safe mode didn't get past this point either.

 

Suspecting the dubious corporate Windows, I swapped the drive for a brand new SSD and proceeded with installing my own retail copy of Windows 7, x64. And what do you know, the installer also hangs at the point of copying files.

 

I tried switching the drive from AHCI to Compatibility mode - nothing. Enabled the test of RAM during boot-up - nothing.

 

Now I'm back on 2+1GB and watching the swap file run constantly, and the antivirus scanning the continuously changing swap file. *facepalm*

 

Please advise. Many thanks in advance!

 

Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-23-2013

Switzerland

7 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 7 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-30, 9:07 AM

Have tried with only 1 stick installed (under the keyboard), laptop passes startup mode but while launching Windows it goes to bluescreen. Have tried with both RAM modules, same effect.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-30-2013

Bucharest, Romania

13 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2013
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania
  • Views: 55
  • Message 8 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-30, 11:36 AM
So does this look like a hardware issue or software? How can I persuade Windows to boot? :)
Reply
Options

10 Posts

12-23-2013

Switzerland

7 Signins

32 Page Views

  • Posts: 10
  • Registered: ‎12-23-2013
  • Location: Switzerland
  • Views: 32
  • Message 9 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-30, 12:38 PM

well, good question. My T410 is also a corporate machine, and out IT support suggests to try the RAM in another T410 machine, if it works then it must be a HW failure on mine and it's stll under warranty so i could ask Lenovo for replacement. If it doesn't work on the other machine then it must be a SW issue, but they never had this case before, so back to square 1, I guess. I'll try with another machine in couple of weeks when back in the office, we'll see.

Reply
Options

4 Posts

12-30-2013

Bucharest, Romania

13 Signins

55 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎12-30-2013
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania
  • Views: 55
  • Message 10 of 19

Re: 2x4GB RAM on T410 doesn't work

2013-12-30, 13:01 PM
Hmmm, now you got me thinking. I spilled some Pepsi on the keyboard, most of it drained out, but some keys were stuck, so that's how I ended up buying a replacement keyboard from a company that has spare parts in stock. They also have 4GB memory sticks branded "for Lenovo" made by Hynix, which I dismissed to be "too cheap" and got these KingMax instead. Next week when they open after the New Year, I'll pay them a visit and ask for a compatibility check with two of their memory modules.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms