Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rafael-m
Paper Tape
Views: 2,460
Message 1 of 5

A few questions about the T580

Hello, sorry for posting these basic questions but I've done some research and I want to make sure that I make the right decision when buying a new T580. I've been out of the loop in tech for a few years now, and I'm just learning now about hardware BIOS whitelists, etc.

I want to buy the most basic T580 model and make sure I can upgrade certain components later on when I have the money available to do so. 

1) Can I upgrade the basic model with the i5-8250u / 4GB RAM to 16GB of RAM later on? PSREF says yes, up to 32GB, and I've watched videos that say there are two slots for RAM available. Just want to make sure there is not any limitation and that I can upgrade later on to at least 16GB.

2)I already have a Samsung SSD - SATA III 2.5 inch. Since this model has a 2.5 drive I assume I can replace it with mine. But am I limiting myself in anyway for future updates if I don't get one of the NVME drives now?

3) I would possibly like to get the WWAN card later on. Is it possible to buy and add one later on? 

4) Will this computer run dual 4k external monitors, should I ever get them? 

Since money is very tight, my only priority right now would be to get the stuff I cannot add later on (3840 x 2160 screen, possibly graphics card but would have to bump up to 8350u). 

Thanks!

lenardg
802.11n
Views: 2,426
Message 2 of 5

Re: A few questions about the T580

I will try to answer some of your questions.