Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
Location: New York
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Another Usable RAM thread.

Hi. I have read through the threads about the windows 32-bit ram issue. I have disabled switchable graphics yet I still only have 2.49 GB out of 4 GB

 

I justed added a new 2 gig stick. What else could be eating up the ram?

Highlighted
HDMI
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎07-31-2009
Location: greece
0 Kudos

Re: Another Usable RAM thread.

 

 

 

 


moh0 wrote:

Hi. I have read through the threads about the windows 32-bit ram issue. I have disabled switchable graphics yet I still only have 2.49 GB out of 4 GB

 

I justed added a new 2 gig stick. What else could be eating up the ram?


unless you go 64 bit you will never see your 4G

 

Punch Card
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Another Usable RAM thread.

Well yeah I have learned to accept that fact Smiley Sad

 

But I read that other have upto 3.7GB usable RAM yet I only have 2.5GB. How can I increase that?

Punch Card
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
Location: New York
0 Kudos

Re: Another Usable RAM thread.

I just couldn't take it anymore and upgraded to 64bit. No complaints anymore Smiley Very Happy
Punch Card
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-21-2008
Location: Germany
0 Kudos

Re: Another Usable RAM thread.

I'm using "Gavotte Ramdisk" and "Physical Adress Extension" (PAE) to access the otherwise unavailable parts of my memory.

Furthermore I disabled the swapfile on all drives except for the newly created ramdrive.
Retired Guru
Posts: 367
Registered: ‎02-12-2009
Location: Austin, TX
0 Kudos

Re: Another Usable RAM thread.

Disabling switchable graphics may not be enough to fix the issue.  I am assuming you are forcing discrete.  You can download the latest notebook drivers from the AMD website or download the non-switching version of the drivers from Lenovo's site.  The switchable drivers will still reserve the ram for the integrated graphics which will lower your free ram.

Thinkpad T500-2081 CTO | T9400 2.53GHz | 8 GB RAM | ATI HD3650 + Intel GM45 | 15.4" LED WXGA+ | Windows 8 | ATI Catalyst 13.1 (non-switchable)
Thinkpad 390x | PII 333 | 256mb ram | NeoMagic 256AV | SVGA LCD | OS/2 v4.52