English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

07-23-2009

U.S. and A.!

77 Signins

364 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2009
  • Location: U.S. and A.!
  • Views: 364
  • Message 1 of 11

Bad to Worse.

2012-04-15, 23:01 PM

Hi all, 

 

So not only does the Control Panel on my T520's nVidia card fail to work, but safe mode doesn't either. It gets stuck in a reboot loop for memory reasons. Using last known boot configuration I can get it to boot normally but the networking cards/drivers don't work. They are detected in Windows 7 but ipconfig only gives the Tunneling adapters. 

 

Any ideas? Or should I just send it in for servicing?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

1491 Posts

05-29-2010

SG

2871 Signins

58967 Page Views

  • Posts: 1491
  • Registered: ‎05-29-2010
  • Location: SG
  • Views: 58967
  • Message 2 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-16, 17:05 PM

Hi kingofthering

 

If you need to use the machine temporary or to ensure your Nvidia GPU is defect, you could change the graphics settings in the BIOS to Integrated Graphics.

 

If you are not technical savvy or / and wish to save the hassle, it's probably good to send it in for servicing.

Have a nice day! :smileytongue::smileyhappy::smileyvery-happy:

Peter

W520 (4284-A99)

Does someone’s post help you? Give them kudos as a reward, as they will do better to improve | Mark it as solved if the solution works for you, so it could be reference for others in the future

=====================================

Sound Enthusiast and Enhancement (Post comments, share mixes, etc.)

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/General-Discussion/Dol​by-Home-Theater-v4-for-most-Lenovo-Laptops/td-p/6...

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Slate-Tablets/​IdeaPad-Tablet-Sound-Enhancement-Thread/td-p/7150

Reply
Options

16 Posts

07-23-2009

U.S. and A.!

77 Signins

364 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2009
  • Location: U.S. and A.!
  • Views: 364
  • Message 3 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-17, 6:39 AM

Who're you calling not tech savvy, eh? :smileylol:

 

But yeah, I've played around with restore points and it's now throwing a Code 39 error in the Device Manager for the PCI express 0101 (can't enter safe mode) and I am seriously thinking that there's something corrupt re: the network adapters (recognized in Windows, not ipconfig).

 

So unanimous yay for sending it back?

Reply
Options

9605 Posts

12-27-2009

CA

3311 Signins

95268 Page Views

  • Posts: 9605
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 95268
  • Message 4 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-17, 18:11 PM
Tried a restore to factory?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

16 Posts

07-23-2009

U.S. and A.!

77 Signins

364 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2009
  • Location: U.S. and A.!
  • Views: 364
  • Message 5 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-17, 19:04 PM

Looks like that's what I'm going to do. ThinkVantage gives me two options: restore Windows partition and restore to factory state. If I choose the former, will I lose all my data? I've backed up the vast majority but there's some that can't be saved (too large, can't transfer license without internet, etc). 

Reply
Options

16 Posts

07-23-2009

U.S. and A.!

77 Signins

364 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2009
  • Location: U.S. and A.!
  • Views: 364
  • Message 6 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-18, 4:44 AM

Great news! I managed to get the wired connection working but the wireless card refuses to power on in Access Connections. I've uninstalled and reinstalled Power Manager, Power Mangement's driver, and Access Connections as well as doing it in device manager, but still no luck. 

 

Suggestions?

Reply
Options

2430 Posts

04-08-2011

US

5471 Signins

46460 Page Views

  • Posts: 2430
  • Registered: ‎04-08-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 46460
  • Message 7 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-18, 5:27 AM

Install the HOTKEY package then use Fn + F5

Reply
Options

16 Posts

07-23-2009

U.S. and A.!

77 Signins

364 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎07-23-2009
  • Location: U.S. and A.!
  • Views: 364
  • Message 8 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-18, 7:44 AM

Well, in a strange bit of news, it turns out it was left over remnants of my Comodo Firewall that was wreaking havoc on my network adapters. Uninstalling the "helper" freed the connections. 

 

 

Now I just need to get the nVidia control panel working and it'll be the machine I've always dreamed of. :D 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

2380 Posts

03-09-2012

CA

5596 Signins

25331 Page Views

  • Posts: 2380
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2012
  • Location: CA
  • Views: 25331
  • Message 9 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-18, 12:14 PM

wrote:

Well, in a strange bit of news, it turns out it was left over remnants of my Comodo Firewall that was wreaking havoc on my network adapters. Uninstalling the "helper" freed the connections. 

 

 

Now I just need to get the nVidia control panel working and it'll be the machine I've always dreamed of. :D 


LOL

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

Reply
Options

1535 Posts

04-20-2010

US

4826 Signins

33391 Page Views

  • Posts: 1535
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 33391
  • Message 10 of 11

Re: Bad to Worse.

2012-04-18, 19:01 PM
What's so funny tripplec?

I would say the Nvidia Control panel issue would be fixed by reinstalling the Nvidia Drivers.
IT Specialist and Consultant
Lenovo Tablet Evangelist
Current Machines: IdeaCentre A300, ThinkPad Tablet, IdeaPad U410 Touch, and Yoga 3 Pro

Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español

Lenovo - the latest in DOtabs, DOpads, DOcentre's, DOstations and DOservers!
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save