Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gsuglia
Paper Tape
Views: 91,088
Message 1 of 15

Battery 'Plugged in, Charging' but stuck at 0%

I'm not very good with computer stuff. I know ctrl+alt+delete and other teensy things but I don't know how to fix this. I left my T400 on for four days while I was on vacation, but  I didn't have it plugged in. I came back yesterday and tried to plug in my laptop because I need it for work, and when I plugged it in and started it up the battery in the start menu showed it was charging. Unlike most people mine says it is charging, but never goes past 0%. Even after letting it charge for almost 20 hours it's still stuck at 0%.

Unrelated, but I noticed my computer isn't automatically connecting to my home wifi anymore like it used to, and a lot of my settings are reset. Are these issues related? What most important is my battery. It shows it's in good health on the power manager. I just don't know what to do. Help?

I don't know if I provided enough information. Let me know if you need anything else. Thank you!

Guru
Views: 90,616
Message 2 of 15

Re: Battery 'Plugged in, Charging' but stuck at 0%

A completely drained battery will take a while for the controller to re-initialize. 20 hours seems a bit too long, but you might want to wait a while longer.

Check under Power Manager's battery tab. If the wattage number is greater than 0, then power is flowing into the battery.

EDIT: The settings getting reset might be the CMOS battery running out. If the system time resets with both the AC and battery unplugged, then you'll need to replace the CMOS battery.

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
gsuglia
Paper Tape
Views: 90,594
Message 3 of 15