cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Thinkpad_User1
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-26-2015
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,926
Message 1 of 8

Best way to clone hard disk?

Hi guys, just got a new T450s with a 500 GB mechanical hard drive. I want to throw in an SSD, either an M2 drive or a standard SSD (not sure yet). I was wondering what the most efficient way would be to clone the mechanical drive? I'm kind of surprised that the ThinkPads do not come with the onekey software.
Anonymous_User
Not applicable
Posts: 0
Views: 4,880
Message 2 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

Try Macrium Reflect.

gyb
Punch Card
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎02-15-2015
Location: CZ
Views: 4,842
Message 3 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

Acronis


T440p: Core i7-4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2TB HDD + 256GB M.2 SSD + 512GB SSD in bay, FullHD IPS, 9-Cell, Windows 7 Pro
L440: Core i5-4300M, 16GB RAM,500GB HDD + 128GB M.2 SSD, Windows 7 Pro
X230: Core i5-3380M, 16GB RAM, 500GB HDD + 120GB mSATA SSD, 9-Cell, Windows 7 Pro
E220s: Core i7-2617M, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Windows 7 pro
Skoop
Bit Torrent
Posts: 705
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: US
Views: 4,825
Message 4 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

Macrium Reflect, hands down.
Thinkpad_User1
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-26-2015
Location: Los Angeles
Views: 4,752
Message 5 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

So do you guys clone the entire drive or just the recovery partition?? As far as I remember Macrium Reflect does not allow partition resizing which I would need to go from a hdd to smaller SSD.

gyb
Punch Card
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎02-15-2015
Location: CZ
Views: 4,739
Message 6 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

I use Acronis boot media to create full disk image to a file. Then, after hdd replacement, it allows you to recover disk image to any disk. Acronis also supports right SSD aligment, so you can be sure everything is OK. You can use your disk image as a backup for later use. My version is Acronis Backup & Recovery 11, but Acronis True Image should work as well. I can test it in day or two, I just purchased 2015 version of True Image.


T440p: Core i7-4700MQ, 16GB RAM, 2TB HDD + 256GB M.2 SSD + 512GB SSD in bay, FullHD IPS, 9-Cell, Windows 7 Pro
L440: Core i5-4300M, 16GB RAM,500GB HDD + 128GB M.2 SSD, Windows 7 Pro
X230: Core i5-3380M, 16GB RAM, 500GB HDD + 120GB mSATA SSD, 9-Cell, Windows 7 Pro
E220s: Core i7-2617M, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Windows 7 pro
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 3,015
Registered: ‎03-14-2014
Location: Bangalore
Views: 4,734
Message 7 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

Hi Thinkpad_User1,

 

If at all I want to change HDD to SSD, I would prefer clean installation of the OS from recovery media instead of cloning as this is a new system. Cloning can be difficult. In some thread, I have read that some of them haven’t been able to successfully clone his similar new windows 8.

 

Make sure to find cloning software which supports windows 8, secure boot, UEFI and GPT. After cloning and booting you want to look up how to align your SSD.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best regards,

Hemanth Kumar



Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.

Follow @LenovoForums on Twitter!

Skoop
Bit Torrent
Posts: 705
Registered: ‎11-21-2013
Location: US
Views: 4,728
Message 8 of 8

Re: Best way to clone hard disk?

<<As far as I remember Macrium Reflect does not allow partition resizing which I would need to go from a hdd to smaller SSD.>>

 

Yes it does.  And all manner of BIOS configs and Windows versions. 

 

Instead of a true clone, you could also image the existing disk and deselect the Q partition where the recovery image is.  That will save you disk space.  And since you then have the imaging software installed, just make a periodic image backup that you can restore in case of crash or virus or whatever.  That's a more contemporary solution than restoring to factory state.

 

Once done, boot and use the new drive and put the original away as your failsafe.  If, for example, you wanted to sell the PC, put the original drive back in and run recovery to restore it to a blank factory slate.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors