Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please noteour guidelines.How to register and login andCommunity FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

visit the blogCheck out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Location: Brasov
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

CPU clock question

Hi,

 

I got a Intel P8400 on my Lenovo T400 it should be clocked at 2.26Ghz, but even on maximum performance mode, i cannot raise the cpu clock over 1500 Mhz as shown in the attachement. 

 

Is there a problem with my laptop? or are there any settings that i'm missing?

 

processor.jpg

Lenovo T400: Intel P8400 @ 2.26Ghz, 8GB DDR3, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128 GB, intel GMA 4500MHD, Windows 7 Pro
Guru
Posts: 8,730
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

Do you have the battery attached?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Bit Torrent
Posts: 1,487
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: Belleville, Ontario Canada
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

[ Edited ]

Looks like the multiplier is wrong. Might be it's trottled down for some reason such as running HOT if its plugged in.

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Windows 7 Home Prem - 64bit w/8GB
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Window 8.1 64bit FHD 17.3 inch Display, Nvidia G840 w/2GB memory

Community Moderator
Posts: 2,996
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: San Francisco
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

Is your motherboard Intel or discrete graphics? Is your ac adapter 65w or 90w?
Posts: 878
Topics: 43
Kudos: 144
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

Are you doing anything to stress the CPU while you are watching it in CPU-Z?

What temps is it running at?


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Location: Brasov
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

[ Edited ]

ColonelONeill no, i had no battery attached

Lenovo T400: Intel P8400 @ 2.26Ghz, 8GB DDR3, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128 GB, intel GMA 4500MHD, Windows 7 Pro
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Location: Brasov
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

[ Edited ]

@nibs no. I had the laptop put on maximum performance while plugged in ( doesn't the cpu stay at the maximum speed in this setting? ), without battery ( it was 100% charged so i pulled it out ) .Under stress it doesn't reach 50 celsius, idle 35 celsius

Lenovo T400: Intel P8400 @ 2.26Ghz, 8GB DDR3, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128 GB, intel GMA 4500MHD, Windows 7 Pro
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Location: Brasov
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

[ Edited ]

@richk mb is intel, and ac adapter 65w

Lenovo T400: Intel P8400 @ 2.26Ghz, 8GB DDR3, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128 GB, intel GMA 4500MHD, Windows 7 Pro
Broadband 3G
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question


mereTz wrote:

ColonelONeill no, i had no battery attached


Put it in.

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-27-2012
Location: Brasov
0 Kudos

Re: CPU clock question

why does the battery has something to do with the CPU clock?Smiley Wink) i just took the battery out to protect it from overcharging...( or this isn't necessary? ). It works now. Thx
Lenovo T400: Intel P8400 @ 2.26Ghz, 8GB DDR3, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 128 GB, intel GMA 4500MHD, Windows 7 Pro