English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: T400 / T500 and newer T series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

28 Posts

05-19-2016

US

41 Signins

271 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-19-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 271
  • Message 1 of 4

Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-25, 17:20 PM

I'm about to get a T470 and would like to just transfer the SSD and RAM from my T460 into it (running Linux, so there's no Microsoftian you-can't-do-that nonsense). 

 

Question: Is the older RAM compatible with the newer model? Or do I need to buy new RAM?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

2442 Posts

04-17-2014

US

3392 Signins

42000 Page Views

  • Posts: 2442
  • Registered: ‎04-17-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 42000
  • Message 2 of 4

Re: Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-25, 18:13 PM

The T460 uses DDR3L chipset whereas the T470 uses a DDR4 chipset.  These aren't backwards or fowards compatible, so you'll need DDR4 SODIMM memory. 

 

As for storage, both run on the SATA or PCIe interface, so you'll be fine there. 


Regards,
Eric Xu

I'm a Lenovo forums advocate and brand advocate (Lenovo INsider). I'm a volunteer; I don't work for Lenovo.

Did someone help you today? Press the thumbs up to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution!


Please read the Community Guidelines before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

Please do not PM me for individual requests... please post to the forums instead :)

Lenovo Forums have transitioned to a new platform. The team is working hard to bring new features and make the forums better than it was before!

The 'Search' function is currently down. In the interim, please get help through browser searches.

Please ensure the option 'Subscribe me automatically to all discussions I have participated in' is enabled under your forum settings. That way, you'll be notified if anyone replies to your thread!

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

28 Posts

05-19-2016

US

41 Signins

271 Page Views

  • Posts: 28
  • Registered: ‎05-19-2016
  • Location: US
  • Views: 271
  • Message 3 of 4

Re: Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-25, 18:20 PM
Thanks.
Reply
Options

8360 Posts

01-13-2008

US

77300 Signins

2194514 Page Views

  • Posts: 8360
  • Registered: ‎01-13-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 2194514
  • Message 4 of 4

Re: Can I use the RAM from my T460 in a T470?

2017-11-26, 5:00 AM

The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

Communities: English Deutsch Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Polski Türkçe Moto English

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete