cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
torntrousers
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 632
Message 1 of 10

Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

I've installed a fresh Win7 on a T550 and the screen brightness adjust doesn't work. It doesn't work with the function keys (the volume Fn keys do work) and there is no adjust brightness option in the start menu or display device in control panel either.

 

I've read various forum entries suggesting reinstall drives etc and I've tried a bunch of things but nothing seems to help.

 

In device manager the Monitor is listed as "Generic PnP Monitor" and the the Display adapter has "Intel(R) HD Graphics 5500" and "Realtek Wifi Display VGA Adapter"

 

Can anyone help with how to fix this?

torntrousers
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 566
Message 2 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Still struggling with this if anyone has any hints...?

 

Which is the driver that would do the brightness control - the Display adapter of the Monitor?

 

In Windows Device Manager the Monitor is "Generic PnP Monitor", does that sound right or should it be something else?

 

The Display adapter driver is: Intel HD Graphics 5500 9/29/2016 20.19.15.4531

If anyone has a T550 with Windows 7 and brightness works could you see what it has for those two?

 

 

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,755
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 537
Message 3 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

I have T550, Win7, and that same Intel HD Graphics driver.  Brightness adjustment works for me.

Usually missing brightness adjustment is caused by video driver problem.  In your previous post, you mentioned "Realtek Wifi Display VGA Adapter" which I have never heard of.  Where did it come from?  I am suspicious that this could be causing your problem.

torntrousers
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 526
Message 4 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Thank you so much for replying.

 

I'm not sure where the "Realtek Wifi Display VGA Adapter" came from. It may have been from the initial Win7 install or trying to fix this I've tried installing all the drivers I could find on the Lenovo T550 download page so it could have been one of those. I've now disabled and uninstalled it, but still no brightness control.

 

This is what divice manager now shows:

 

t550devices.jpg

 

Any suggestions?

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,755
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 524
Message 5 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Do you have "Lenovo On Screen Display" installed and showing in Control Panel -> Programs -> Programs and Features?

torntrousers
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 522
Message 6 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Yes that is there, version 8.86.11
Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,755
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 517
Message 7 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

It's the same as my version here.  Only other thing that affects brightness keys is Power Management driver.  Device Manager -> System Devices -> Lenovo PM Device, should be 1.67.12.24 or later

torntrousers
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 514
Message 8 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Yes thats there and at 1.67.12.24
Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,755
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 511
Message 9 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Sorry, I don't have another idea.  If you have the Win7 factory preload (recovery DVD) it might be time to try that just to rule out some hardware problem.

torntrousers
Paper Tape
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Location: United Kingdom
Views: 508
Message 10 of 10

Re: Can't adjust brightness on T550 after Win7 install

Do you mean try re-install Win7 again? Hmm, not terribly appealing. Is there really nothing else to try first?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors