cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
parthan
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-15-2012
Location: US
Views: 66,057
Message 1 of 11

Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

I'm at a complete loss here. Brand new T430. I changed the settings in BIOS to UEFI and installed Windows 7 x64 successfully. But I can no longer get into the BIOS. F1, F12, Enter nothing works.

Please help!

Thanks much!!

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,862
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 65,893
Message 2 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

Hello,

 

Do you see the prompt during POST  "To interrupt normal start up, Press Enter"  ?

parthan
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-15-2012
Location: US
Views: 65,890
Message 3 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

Yes, I do. I hit Enter, nothing happens. Tried all possible keys, hit them many times, no luck.

I have given up at this point. Very frustrating. There are other reports on this issue too. Was there a bad BIOS update from Lenovo?

 

parthan
Punch Card
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-15-2012
Location: US
Views: 65,884
Message 4 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

To claify, all the keys works once Windows boots. But they don't during POST. I cannot get into the BIOS to change boot order etc. At this point the system is unusable for me since I need to reinstall the OS by booting off a DVD or network etc.

Lenovo Staff
Lenovo Staff
Posts: 5,862
Registered: ‎10-29-2009
Location: NC
Views: 65,875
Message 5 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

parthan,

 

please check your private messages.  Look for the mailbox icon and "1 New" near the top-right of the screen.

tripplec
Bit Torrent
Posts: 2,379
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Location: CA
Views: 65,865
Message 6 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

Since it did work I'll bet it due to the change to UEFI which most of us are not familiar with. I seem to recall there was a Automatic BIOS detection setting.
T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

StrongGod
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Location: Portugal
Views: 65,010
Message 7 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

Hi someotherguy,

 

Can you help me with this problem?

 

I hit enter to stop the normal boot and then appear a window to select different options:

- F1: Enter BIOS

- Another one I don't remember

- F12: Select bootable device

 

Any of the menus I've tryied to enter I got a message afterwards saying:

 

"Intel Boot Agent GE v1.3.81

PXE 2.1 Build 091 WfM 2.0)"

 

And just stays there. Nothing happens.

 

After pressing F1 or F12 or other, I got a small message saying press CTRL+S to enter the setup menu. If I press it, I enter in a menu just to change the amount of time that message appear and if I want it or not.

 

Can you help me?

 

I need to activate the virtualization on the BIOS in order to setup virtual machines!

StrongGod
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2013
Location: Portugal
Views: 65,281
Message 8 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

Hi All,

 

I've solved the problem. Just a BIOS Update!

 

Strange that the initial BIOS doesn't work!

 

Thanks

slhuston
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2013
Location: United States
Views: 62,830
Message 9 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

I have this problem too, but I do *not* get the POST prompt "To interrupt normal start up, Press Enter".  I am running Windows 7 and have not made any changes to the BIOS.

MarkAurit
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-15-2013
Location: US
Views: 44,849
Message 10 of 11

Re: Cannot get into BIOS using F1 or Enter

Yesterday I installed windows 8.1 home (and a few days ago windows 7 pro) on my t20 booting from a usb both times; I went into f1 and f12 for both, no problems) .  I then installed windows 10 home (so this is what I am running right now).  Today I went to re-install windows 7 pro (there really is a reason for all this) and f1 doesnt do anything. Help! 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors