Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-03-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

Hi there,

 

I just want to connect DisplayPort on my T400s to HDMI port on HDTV. I am thinking about the following two methods but I am not so sure if either of them works out:

1) Using a Displayport-to-HDMI converter (like this one http://www.startech.com/item/DP2HDMI-DisplayPort-to-HDMI-Cable-Adapter-Converter.aspx) and a HDMI/male-HDMI/male cable.

2) Directly using a DisplayPort/male-HDMI/male cable (like this one  http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10246&cs_id=1024607&p_id=6013&seq=1&for...)

 

Do you think they both work?

 

By the way, I am fully aware that by using the above connection, if it works, there is only video but audio. In order to get the audio, can I use this cable http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021802&p_id=645&seq=1&form... or this one http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021804&p_id=5600&seq=1&for... to get the analog sound from my laptop to HDTV.

 

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

 

Retired Guru
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan
0 Kudos

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

Hi LittleBear,

 

Either of the video cables (1) or (2) will work. In general, the fewer connections you have to make, the fewer places for signal quality to be degraded. So I'd prefer (2).

 

The HDTVs I've seen have dual RCA inputs for analog stereo audio. So the second audio cable you listed, the one that goes from a stereo 3.5mm plug to dual RCA plugs, is the way to go.

 

Thanks for doing your research and realizing that you need both video and audio cables. Smiley Happy

 

Good luck!

-Frank

---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. Smiley Happy
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-03-2009
Location: Canada
0 Kudos

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

Many thanks, fmyhr. I already ordered the cables.

 

All the best.

Highlighted
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

Hi,

I am very happy about my T400s except the audio problem with displayport. I tried so many cables before finding this thread! My question is that even if you use two cables for video and audio (displayport and analog), most TV's do not allow dual source at the same time. I have an LG HDTV (LD 450), with all the necessary ports, but I get to choose either an HDMI input OR an analog input from VGA or RCA. Do you know how to fix this? 

Posts: 20,904
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,259
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

get a separate speaker or amplifier, other you would need to get a dvi to hdmi converter box, which is expensive (and you would also need to get a advanced mini dock or usb sound card that support spdif/digital audio out).
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Retired Guru
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

Hi arashet,

 

Welcome to the Lenovo forum. Glad that you're (mostly) enjoying your excellent T400s.

 

LG's 32LD450 support page has links for product specifications and manuals. Unfortunately the link for the English manual isn't working for me at the moment -- maybe you could do the world a favor and complain to LG? Smiley Happy

 

Google found a copy of the manual here:

http://newchocolate.lge.com/lgecs.downloadFile.ldwf?DOC_ID=KROWM000255278&ORIGINAL_NAME_b1_a1=SAC341...

 

From p.19 of the manual, it appears that if you connect video to HDMI/DVI IN 1 and audio to AUDIO IN (RGB/DVI), you should be able to get simultaneous video and audio when selecting the HDMI1 input (manual p.70). The analog audio cable you'll need is the first type that LittleBear pointed to, with 3.5mm stereo headphone jacks on both ends, like this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10218&cs_id=1021802&p_id=645&seq=1&form...

 

Best regards,

Frank

---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. Smiley Happy
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

[ Edited ]

Thank you Frank. But the TV only can choose one input at a time, either hdmi or VGA. Anyway, I ultimately had to give up on HDMI and go on with the old VGA cable with an extra 3.5 audio cable: pretty ugly looking stuff! I am still wondering why should one of the latest T-series Lenovo models lack such a simple thing as audio output on displayport, while it costs a fortune and  is more expensive than most similar notebooks in the market. Next time I will keep my eyes open when buying a notebook!

Posts: 20,904
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,259
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

it is not the latest T series, the T410s/T410/W510/T510 all have sound channel in the dp port.

T400s/R500/T500/W500/X200 ultrabase was the first thinkpad to have the dp. The lack of sound in the dp was not only limited to Thinkpads, other competitors machine released in the same time that has dp also lack sound.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Retired Guru
Posts: 993
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Location: Michigan

Re: DisplayPort on T400s to HDMI on HDTV

If you:

  1. Leave your 3.5mm analog audio cable connected as is;
  2. Connect your T400s DisplayPort to TV HDMI/DVI In 1;
  3. Select HDMI 1 Input on your TV remote

You still get no audio?

---------

Results of Your Ideal Business-Class Laptop survey, concluded 2009-07-29.

Did someone help you?
Say thanks! with a kudo.
Even better: Pay it forward, help someone else. Smiley Happy