cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Thinkpadnerdy
Paper Tape
Views: 131
Message 1 of 6

Does “restore factory defaults” wipe off my data completely?

I used to have a Thinkpad (Lenovo) T440. I have been using that laptop for over 8 years.

This device has been reset to factory default multiple times (probably up to 6-10 times if not more)

Every time when I selected to reset the system, I chose the “Remove All Data / Do Not Save Any Data”. The way I used to reset was by following the step of Thinkpad’s Own Recovery System which could help you to reinstall WindowsZ

That laptop’s Screen was broken and I had to gave it to the computer repair shop to let them dispose it for me.

My question is this, I didn’t have the chance to wipe clean the data myself before I was ready to dispose it.

I am a bit regret now that I gave my trust to that computer repair shop to sort out the rest.

Bottom line is I don’t have critical files or personal data in that laptop after the last reset I made.

I am just wondering would any people be able to retract my data before my last reset or even up to the point when my very first test was made.

I know you’ll have to rewrite the hard drive multiple times over and over to completely erase the very old data.

My multiple resets were all happened when my system got so slow and even infected my virus or something. So I assume my hard drive had been already overloaded multiple tomes my tons of new data over the old data, not to mention full clean resets multiple times as well.

Am I worrying too much that my oldest data would still be retractable by hackers or there is a mere chance they could only probably retract data up to the point when my latest reset was made?

Looking forward to your answers!

Highlighted
WizTech33
Blue Screen Again
Views: 116
Message 2 of 6

Re: Does “restore factory defaults” wipe off my data completely?

its possible, but unlikly

Thinkpadnerdy
Paper Tape
Views: 76
Message 3 of 6