Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
drgibson
What's DOS?
Views: 216
Message 1 of 3

Fingerprint reader stopped working

The fingerprint reader on my T470 has been a little glitchy since I bought it - occasionally doesn't work, but usually resolves if I restart it. Just performed some sort of update, though, and since then the fingerprint reader hasn't worked at all.  I had to go back and figure out what my password was, which took a while since I've never used it before.

Any ideas? I am not a computer person, so if I can't fix this really easily I'm going to have to get it repaired (it's still under warranty).

Lenovo Employee Rydeen
Lenovo Employee
Views: 157
Message 2 of 3

Re: Fingerprint reader stopped working

Dear customer,

In ordere to clarify your issue, can you provide below information ?

- Which Windows 10 version is used on your T470, Version 1709 or 1803?  Is it upgraded by Windows Update?

- Can you check Fingerprint device status on Device Manager?  Is it Yellow Banged ?

- Have you tried to uninstall Fingerprint reader device once, then re-install the latest Intel SGX device and Fingerprint driver?

drgibson
What's DOS?
Views: 132
Message 3 of 3

Re: Fingerprint reader stopped working

Thanks for the reply. I'll try to answer your questions, but be warned, my ignorance on these subjects may be irritating.

- I have Windows Home. I don't know if it's version 1709 or 1803. I've tried searching my computer and I can't find that information anywhere. If you can tell me where it is, I'll be happy to look again. I'm not sure what Windows Update is, but Windows does update periodically.