cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
erceve
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
Location: The Netherlands
Views: 2,951
Message 1 of 9

Fn lock function on T430

Hello,

 

Today I found out there is a way to lock the Fn key in the BIOS which allows you to control the media keys on the double function F3-F12 keys, I thought this was a great feature and so I enabled it. Unfortunately it seems that I am unable to type as long as Fn lock is enabled, volume control also doesn't work. I have to press Fn twice for the keyboard and volume buttons to start responding again, but then Fn lock is disabled again. Is there a way to have Fn lock function without the rest of the keyboard losing its function? Because right now, using the media keys is more cumbersome than it was before while I thought it should have made it easier. Any suggestions?

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 2,925
Message 2 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

Hi, erceve

 

Yes, this should be possible. There are two possible settings for the Fn key: Legacy and StandardLegacy Mode works in the traditional sense. The secondary key functions become usable when the Fn key is pressed. Standard Mode takes the approach where the Fn key enables the function keys (F1-F12.) In this mode the function keys become the secondary, not the primary, functions. To enable this, I would disable the Fn Key Lock in the BIOS and then boot as normally. When in Windows, hold the Fn key for about ten seconds. A menu should appear that will allow you to switch the Fn key behavior. 

 

Hope it helps,
Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
user6
802.11n
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Location: Russia
Views: 2,921
Message 3 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

I have tried holding down the Fn key for over 10 seconds on T530, and nothing happened.
Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 2,913
Message 4 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

Hi, lenssd9

 

Do you have Hotkey Features Integration installed? If not, I would try installing that first, as I think this functionality comes from that program. Also, under the BIOS settings of Config ► Keyboard/Mouse, what settings do you currently have set?

 

Thanks in advance,
Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
user6
802.11n
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Location: Russia
Views: 2,905
Message 5 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

I have a few months older version of Hotkey Features installed. Fn Key Lock is disabled in BIOS.
erceve
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
Location: The Netherlands
Views: 2,875
Message 6 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

Those two settings sound like that's exactly what I'm looking for, so I immediately installed the latest version of the hotkey program and Updated all important and recommended updates using system update, I have BIOS 2.51 installed so I should be up to date but somehow nothing happens when I hold down the funciton key, is there any other way to reach those settings? I'm using Windows 8 BTW

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 2,861
Message 7 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

Hi, erceve and lenssd9

 

After doing some more research and testing, it seems that the Legacy and Standard modes for the Fn key are not available on the T Series. I have successfully used this functionality on three other WIndows 8 machines, as well as numerous other Windows 7 machines, but not on any T Series machine. My apologies for thinking that this was possible for your machines.


Sorry to be the bearer of bad news,

Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
erceve
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎09-12-2012
Location: The Netherlands
Views: 2,849
Message 8 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

That sounds to bad, so there is no way we can get this feature on the T430? because it would come in really handy when you use those keys a lot as in my case!

Retired Support Specialist
Posts: 1,291
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Views: 2,837
Message 9 of 9

Re: Fn lock function on T430

erceve and lenssd9--

 

Sadly, no. As far as I can tell, this behavior is not available for T Series machines. Maybe it can be patched and fixed sometime in the future, but nothing as of this moment.

 

Best,
Adam

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution!" This will help the rest of the community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
Top Kudoed Authors