Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-13-2011
Location: USA
Message 1 of 4 (632 Views)

GPU constantly maxed

[ Edited ]

Notice the GPU gague below. It is always maxed out as shown below (except for when external monitor is used).

 

I think this is a problem. I noticed this as I noticed that my battery seemed to be draining more quickly than it should.

 

 

screen capture

 

My machine is a T520

 

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional

Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601

Manufacturer LENOVO

System Model423926U

System Typex64-based PC

ProcessorIntel(R) Core(TM) i7-2620M CPU @ 2.70GHz, 2701 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)

BIOS Version/DateLENOVO 8AET49WW (1.29 ), 7/11/2011

SMBIOS Version2.6

Hardware Abstraction LayerVersion = "6.1.7601.17514"

Installed Physical Memory (RAM)8.00 GB

Total Physical Memory7.89 GB

Available Physical Memory4.72 GB

Total Virtual Memory15.8 GB

Available Virtual Memory12.0 GB

Page File Space7.89 GB

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 2 of 4 (626 Views)

Re: GPU constantly maxed

Run this:
http://techiestalk.com/download-nvidia-optimus-test-tools-gpu-state-viewer-graphic-for-windows-7-326...

It'll tell you which program is using the discrete graphics card.

After identifying it, right click the program, Run on Graphics Processor, set default processor. This takes you to the NVidia control panel, where you can then add a rule for the program in question and force it to run on the integrated card.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-13-2011
Location: USA
Message 3 of 4 (622 Views)

Re: GPU constantly maxed

It looks like it was IE, despite IE being set by the graphics processor to not do this. 

 

I'm thinking it is the internal setting in IE 

"use software rendering instead of GPU rendering"

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 4 of 4 (611 Views)

Re: GPU constantly maxed

Yeah IE defaulted to NVidia GPU on mine. I just added an exclusion rule and all is happy.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
top kudoed authors