Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sajith
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 913
Message 1 of 6

Hairline cracks on T420's lid

Hello Everyone!

A week after my T420's warranty expired, I noticed two cracks on the lid.  (Pictured below.)   Have anyone else seen things like these?  The Lenovo help desk person I spoke with told me that it might cost something in the range of $175-$900 to fix this.  But I'm a student, and that kind of money is above my budget.  Is there a less expensive, preferably DIY-ish way to get this fixed?

Thanks!

Sajith.

cracked-small.jpg

tripplec
Bit Torrent
Views: 900
Message 2 of 6

Re: Hairline cracks on T420's lid

Call and insist on someone in customer relations. There is not excuse for cheap brittle plastics on PC. There are so man types of plastics and some can be as tough as steel. It sould never happen, NEVER absolutely rediculous.

I suggest you find a service center and call and arrange to take it to them. I seems sending it out to the approved depot results in more damage than what you started with.

T520 Model 4239 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2860QMbr>; Nvidia NVS 4200M Win 10 64bit
Z70-80 I7 - 5500U 16GB GB - 1TB HD Win 10 64bit FHD 17.3", G840 w/2GB

sajith
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Views: 886
Message 3 of 6

I will try that. Thanks!

My 6-year old R51 (which was the entry level model back then) is still functional and as strong as a brick, but for the now-dead battery. I'm really surprised by this, and the fidgety CD/DVD drive of the newer machine.

tripplec
Bit Torrent
Views: 858
Message 4 of 6

IBM engineered those but not these models. Cheap plastic (which has no business being used on a notebook) is apparently used and the smaller the footprint the bigger the issues on cracking seems to be. I've not read of the T5xx having cracking problems but thats not saying the plastic is any better. It just a bigger piece and hopefully supported better from flexing.