cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
kingskawn
Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Location: BE
Views: 542
Message 1 of 23

Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

I've got 2x T530's which are having the same trouble. When booting I just can see the boot splash screen (picture taken) and it disseapear right after. I can only use the laptop when vga is connected to an external screen.

 lcd

 

 

I tried to change the inverter (sub card) but I get the same result. So could it be the CCFL inside the lcd panel or is it the inverter still?

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 525
Message 2 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

Welcome to the forum!

 

These are LED panels, so if you already swapped the LED Subcard (and you're sure it's working properly) then as next you could try replacing the LED cable and LCD cable. 

 

This will mean disassembling the LCD unit, please follow the instructions of chapter 10 - 1180, 2010 & 2040 from the Hardware Maintenance Manual, which you can download from here: Click me!

 

Good luck and keep us posted!

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
kingskawn
Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Location: BE
Views: 496
Message 3 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

So it's not an LCD panel but a LED panel? There is no CCFL in that panel? From what model the LED panels appear? T510, T520? Maybe I can try switching one of those onto this T530?
Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 493
Message 4 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)


@kingskawn wrote:
So it's not an LCD panel but a LED panel? There is no CCFL in that panel? From what model the LED panels appear? T510, T520? Maybe I can try switching one of those onto this T530?

That's correct, any T510, T520, W510, W520 & W530 panel will work (cables are different if I remember correctly)

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
kingskawn
Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Location: BE
Views: 482
Message 5 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

Ok, I've just tried the LCD panel from a working T530. I've connect it to the failed T530 and it didn't work. So to resume, the LCD panel is not the issue here. I still see the bios splash screen but fainted.
De sub card was also tested from the working T530 and it seems to be ok too.

Could it be the cables? I know the cables (black & white) are the wlan antennas. If they are broken, the lcd panel still works, no?

 

What else can I test?

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 475
Message 6 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

Yes, the wlan cables don't affect the LCD operation, I'd try replacing the LCD cable first, then the LED Cable, they're cheap and easy to get in eBay, Amazon and similar sites.

 

See the cable locations on page 98 of the Hardware Maintenance Manual. screen.jpg

 

You can find the FRU numbers on pages 60 & 61, check the printed page numbers on the documents, not the page numbers your PDF viewer shows!

 

-

 

 

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
kingskawn
Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Location: BE
Views: 464
Message 7 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

Ok, thanks I found 2 cables;

04W1565 LCD Cable ASM
04W1714 LED/Camera Cable ASM

Those are the 2 cables I need or only 1? I am confused

 

EDIT: I already ordered "04W1565 LCD Cable ASM"

Community Moderator
Community Moderator
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎07-24-2013
Location: CH
Views: 438
Message 8 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)


kingskawn wrote:

EDIT: I already ordered "04W1565 LCD Cable ASM"


Very good, good luck then with the swap!

 

-

L40SX/240/240X/340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/570/600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E/A20p/A22/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/T22/T4x/T6x/T4x0/T5x0/W5x0/W700/X1/X2x/X3x/X4x/X6x/X6xT/X2xx/X200T/X30x/Z60m/Z61x



Español Comunidad en Español  English English Community  Deutsche Deutsche Community   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

Untitled-4.png
kingskawn
Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Location: BE
Views: 411
Message 9 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

I'm still waiting for my cable to arrive. Once I receive it I will post my findings and if my case is resolved
kingskawn
Token Ring
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Location: BE
Views: 393
Message 10 of 23

Re: Hardware failure (lcd fainting)

I received the cable (04W1565 LCD Cable ASM) and installed it but it didn't solve the problem. Maybe changing the other cable (04W1714 LED/Camera Cable ASM) could solve it?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors