DK

19 Signins

158 Page Views

• Views: 158
  • Message 1 of 20

Heap of trouble with T490 + Thunderbolt 3 Dock Gen2

2019-09-16, 8:54 AM

Dear helpy helpers,

I am experiencing a heap of trouble when using T490 and Thunderbolt 3 Dock Gen 2 together.

When we recieve a new machine, we reinstall it, with a clean latest version of Windows, and run TVSU for the lastest drivers. Software wise, they get Office, Visual Studio, ReSharper, SQL Server Management Studio and Symantec. Nothing fancy.

The last 3 machines hav had issues with the docks. The docks are 135W (cable plugged in the correct power port on the dock). Cable for the PC is on the back and not the front. Screens that wont run full resolution, no ethernet, no charging and the like. Checking the Thunderbolt Control Panel, the dock is connected.

Reinstalling wont solve the issued, but getting new motherboards for 2 machines worked somewhat.

I've been managing Lenovo laptops for 10 years now, and though i don't see myself as an expert, I have seen quite a few different models, and experienced different issues with docking solutions. Though. Nothing. Like. These. Thunderbolt. Docks. 

Is anyone else having trouble, or am I the only one fighthing this? I am thinking about running back to Windows 10 1809 instead of 1903, but I dont really like having to be vary of backwards compatibility with a simple setup as above. 

Any help would be hawt!

Solved! See the solution
Options

5 Posts

09-13-2019

US

14 Signins

138 Page Views

• Views: 138
  • Message 2 of 20

Re: Heap of trouble with T490 + Thunderbolt 3 Dock Gen2

2019-09-16, 14:14 PM