Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Location: Singapore
0 Kudos

Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

I have recently re-installed Windows 7 x64 Professional on my T410 laptop. As usual, Lenovo has never ceased to amaze me, I got a new problem with hibernation. If I hiberate, Windows will goes into standby mode (moving mouse or typing a key will trun the LCD back on).

 

I have always used hibernation on the same laptop with previous installation (same OS) without any problem. The only difference is the new power management software/driver and updates from LENOVO.

 

It gets worse If the laptop is running on battery. When automatic hiberation due to the battery power is low is happens or when I manually hibernate, the system goes into standby mode turn off the LCD screen but does not hibernate, and it won't wake up again. I have to hard-power off.

 

Is anyone experiencing this problem? I have so far have not seen anyone reported this problem.

Guru
Posts: 8,756
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

Do you have Hybrid Sleep turned on?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Location: Singapore
0 Kudos

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

Why? Is Hybrid Sleep a problem? Let me check.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Location: Singapore
0 Kudos

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

No, hybrid sleep is off in power settings.
Guru
Posts: 8,756
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

[ Edited ]

This is a clean, OEM install, right?

Did you remember to install ALL the latest, necessary drivers?

 

i.e.)

Power Management v1.62

Power Manager v3.52

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Highlighted
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Location: Singapore
0 Kudos

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

This is a clean install with serial provided by LENOVO, but not from OEM CD. Because the laptop comes pre-installed with Windows 7 64bit Professional version, but OEM only provides Windows 7 32bit Professional version CD.

 

Anyway, I don't think it has to do anything with OEM CD. I have re-installed Windows on this laptop for several times before. I never had this problem until this last re-installation.

 

And I have all the drivers from LENOVO update to date, and all Windows update installed until a fews days ago.

Guru
Posts: 8,756
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

Probably not going to do anything, but try running SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Location: Singapore
0 Kudos

Re: Help! Hiberate goes into Standby mode on my T410

I just tried. It doesn't help.