Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rmcginn
Fanfold Paper
Views: 1,186
Message 1 of 10

Help! Successor to T420?

I hope this is the right place for this. I'm a long-time ThinkPad fan who really needs help choosing a successor to my exhausted T420. Been chasing my tail, reading reviews for days -T460, T460p, T460s, T560, or maybe zig-zag to X??

I'm a free-lance researcher/ writer in moderately technical medical/ scientific content. VERY important: my hobbies of genealogy (lots of documents) and photography (nothing complicated, point and shoot, editing in Photoshop; simple video editing).

Of course I'd love a sexy, razor-thin whatever that flips every which way, but realistically, durability and ruggedness are the priority- I often shlep my laptop locally between clients and home, a few times a year by air, but not so much that a few ounces or even a pound either way matters.

I'm pretty tech-savvy, have changed my own fan and keyboard on occasion. I'm not interested in a touch screen, very comfortable with Windows 7, vaguely afraid of Windows 10.

I need to get back to work - please help!

(If this is the wrong place for this please direct me....)
Many thanks, Rosemary

rmcginn
Fanfold Paper
Views: 1,148
Message 2 of 10

Re: Help! Successor to T420?

Ok, so I guess this is the wrong place for this message, or I've failed to convey my extreme desperation at losing income as the clock ticks! Where should I go? (No wisecracks, please.)

thanks again / more,

Rosemary

@rmcginn wrote:

I hope this is the right place for this. I'm a long-time ThinkPad fan who really needs help choosing a successor to my exhausted T420. Been chasing my tail, reading reviews for days -T460, T460p, T460s, T560, or maybe zig-zag to X??